We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanlon House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanlon House B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

On our arrival, we were greater with freshly brewed coffee, cheese and biscuits. Then we looked out the window and that whew is to die for !!

The rooms were well appointed, clean and very clean. The port drink on the sideboard was a great touch.

Breakfast was magnificent. The hoss were eager to help and provided and excellent service in arranging diner at another establishment !,
,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
135
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Graham and Maxine are by far the most hospitable, friendly and caring ambassadors for Tasmania that you'll ever meet.
The location is remarkable, directly under the nut, walking distance too shops and restaurants. Their house is beautiful and has been in the family for many years, but its more than just a historic house, it's a home and they certainly make you feel at home, with cheese plate on arrival and port and chocs too end your evening.
And the breakfast ! There's a menu! We were gob smacked, try the eggs beni with salmon - Devine ! A wealth of knowledge, recommendations and advice graham and Maxine are not only wonderful hosts they're local celebrities, you'll spot them around town. Thanks for a great stay the from the QLD boaties .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is simply a lovely place to stay . Host are welcoming ,easy going yet professional
The house is beautifully positioned in Stanley, so near to the beach that fairy penguins nest nearby and just below the Nut. The room we had was spacious and spotlessly clean
Breakfasts produce is of a high standard with a varied menu.
We had an 8 week trip to Australia and found a a good standard throughout, but this B&B stood out as the best and one I would happily return to.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geeveston, Australia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed there only one night, our problem, and experienced one of the best B & B's ever. The owners could not have been nicer and helped in any and all way's possible. We are not a huge fan of B & B's on average but this one cured us :). We travelled around good old Tassie for 2 weeks again (can't get away from that lovely place) and having had a couple of medium/rare experiences on the way, this was a magic tonic! Thanks and we will be back. Peter & Jola

Room Tip: Great spot in Stanley, have a go, you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful B&B! When we arrived we were treated to a lovely cheese plate, wine and beverages.
Our view was amazing, rooms beautifully and tastefully furnished, linen was lovely quality and very clean.
The best thing, apart from our hosts, was the attention to the smallest detail; crystal decanter of port next to the spa bath, body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, cotton buds, bath lotion, chocolates in a beautiful silver presentation bowl...... Dvd's aplenty, iPod docking station to play your own choice of music..... Wonderfully thought out!
Breakfast was as good as you would find in the best restaurants, with a wonderful choice and made as required with fresh produce!
We will definatly be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionaandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanlonHouse, Owner at Hanlon House B&B, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and thank you for staying with us at Hanlon House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

This little B&B in Stanley is obviously the place to stay if you enjoy the welcome of a B&B stay. The room, Mary Ellen suite, was very clean and tidy with a comfortable bed, enjoying lovely ocean views from the verandah. Our hosts were obviously very proud of their establishment and had first rate knowledge about the places to see and eat at. That said I didn't think much of the breakfast though there was a wide variety to choose from and it had a relaxed homely feel to it which I guess is what B&B's are all about. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to my friends, if they are seeking some old world charm in a relaxed B&B environment.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aar0n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at Hanlon House as we had to change our plans due to the recent bush fires in Tasmania and stumbled across this beautiful B&B. We were so glad we changed it to there as not only is the town a picture perfect place to visit but this B&B was also picture perfect.

Very clean, tidy and an amazing location with a breath taking view from the dining room. The hosts were an absolute pleasure to meet and Maxine's breakfast was amazing!!! We had the whole upstairs suite to ourselves but would even suit a family.

Would definitely recommend this to anyway wanting to stay in Stanley!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
0.5 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#5 of 7 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanlon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanlon House B&B

Property: Hanlon House B&B
Address: 6 Marshall St, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanlon House B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanlon House is everything a seaside bed and breakfast should be - a perfect mix of history, character and hospitality. Centrally located under the Nut and close to the beach. Enjoy our quality en-suited rooms and spectacular dinning room overlooking the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanlon House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanlon House B&B Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing