We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanlon House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanlon House B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Divine!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

What a GREAT B&B!! Unfortunately we only stayed for one night, but Maxine was a wonderful host! The views are superb, the location is fantastic. Breakfast was beautiful. Even the little penguins wandering around the backyard after nightfall was just surreal. An amazing little gem that sticks out as one of the highlights of our tassie holiday! Thankyou!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
135
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed two nights at Hanlon House with Maxine and Graham, upstairs in the Edward Suite with our two teenage children. We all really enjoyed our stay. Maxine and Graham are wonderful hosts and have a fantastic local knowledge. The cooked breakfast each morning were absolutley wonderful, it would be very difficult to find better in a café or restaurant. Stanley is a lovely picturesque town and we were so glad we chose to stay at Hanlon House whilst there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Staying one night only but this is an excellent B and B. It has obliging and friendly host/owners and all the classic elements which make up a B B in an historic area.
I am writing this sitting by an open fire as the wind whistles through the graveyard next door.And all of this 100 meters to Bass Strait
Recommended.
Please ignore reference to pool.Has none and with e ocean outside does not need one!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We only had one night at Hanlon House unfortunately. Maxine and Graham were warm, friendly and professional while attending to our every need. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was amazing, the bed comfortable and the room offered superb ocean views. Location was great, walking distance to the chair lift up the Nut, the beach and restaurants. Would highly recommend this gorgeous house for your short stays in beautiful Stanley
Lorraine & Norm

Room Tip: We had the spa room with ocean views on the ground floor. The upstairs room probably had great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Graham and Maxine were perfect hosts, with their friendly approach, most welcoming arrival, and absolutely beautiful room and home. Amazing views, and close proximity to the quaint town of Stanley make this a special place to stay indeed. Maxine goes the extra miles for those extra touches, and the breakfast is to die for, with local fresh produce, and an amazing menu. Thank you for a lovely stay. We didn't really want to leave!!

Room Tip: All rooms a beautiful, however, we were lucky enough to have a front room, and able to watch a beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassiegrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

On our arrival, we were greater with freshly brewed coffee, cheese and biscuits. Then we looked out the window and that whew is to die for !!

The rooms were well appointed, clean and very clean. The port drink on the sideboard was a great touch.

Breakfast was magnificent. The hoss were eager to help and provided and excellent service in arranging diner at another establishment !,
,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Graham and Maxine are by far the most hospitable, friendly and caring ambassadors for Tasmania that you'll ever meet.
The location is remarkable, directly under the nut, walking distance too shops and restaurants. Their house is beautiful and has been in the family for many years, but its more than just a historic house, it's a home and they certainly make you feel at home, with cheese plate on arrival and port and chocs too end your evening.
And the breakfast ! There's a menu! We were gob smacked, try the eggs beni with salmon - Devine ! A wealth of knowledge, recommendations and advice graham and Maxine are not only wonderful hosts they're local celebrities, you'll spot them around town. Thanks for a great stay the from the QLD boaties .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
477 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
0.5 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#5 of 7 in Stanley
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanlon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanlon House B&B

Property: Hanlon House B&B
Address: 6 Marshall St, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanlon House B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanlon House is everything a seaside bed and breakfast should be - a perfect mix of history, character and hospitality. Centrally located under the Nut and close to the beach. Enjoy our quality en-suited rooms and spectacular dinning room overlooking the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanlon House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanlon House B&B Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing