We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation”
Review of Hanlon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanlon House
Ranked #3 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Although we only stayed one night it was a night to remember. The roaring log fire, complimentary port, lovely room with comfy bed and a gourmet breakfast cooked to perfection. Beautiful view from the dining room and lovely hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

What a GREAT B&B!! Unfortunately we only stayed for one night, but Maxine was a wonderful host! The views are superb, the location is fantastic. Breakfast was beautiful. Even the little penguins wandering around the backyard after nightfall was just surreal. An amazing little gem that sticks out as one of the highlights of our tassie holiday! Thankyou!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed two nights at Hanlon House with Maxine and Graham, upstairs in the Edward Suite with our two teenage children. We all really enjoyed our stay. Maxine and Graham are wonderful hosts and have a fantastic local knowledge. The cooked breakfast each morning were absolutley wonderful, it would be very difficult to find better in a café or restaurant. Stanley is a lovely picturesque town and we were so glad we chose to stay at Hanlon House whilst there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Staying one night only but this is an excellent B and B. It has obliging and friendly host/owners and all the classic elements which make up a B B in an historic area.
I am writing this sitting by an open fire as the wind whistles through the graveyard next door.And all of this 100 meters to Bass Strait
Recommended.
Please ignore reference to pool.Has none and with e ocean outside does not need one!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We only had one night at Hanlon House unfortunately. Maxine and Graham were warm, friendly and professional while attending to our every need. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was amazing, the bed comfortable and the room offered superb ocean views. Location was great, walking distance to the chair lift up the Nut, the beach and restaurants. Would highly recommend this gorgeous house for your short stays in beautiful Stanley
Lorraine & Norm

Room Tip: We had the spa room with ocean views on the ground floor. The upstairs room probably had great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Graham and Maxine were perfect hosts, with their friendly approach, most welcoming arrival, and absolutely beautiful room and home. Amazing views, and close proximity to the quaint town of Stanley make this a special place to stay indeed. Maxine goes the extra miles for those extra touches, and the breakfast is to die for, with local fresh produce, and an amazing menu. Thank you for a lovely stay. We didn't really want to leave!!

Room Tip: All rooms a beautiful, however, we were lucky enough to have a front room, and able to watch a beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassiegrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

On our arrival, we were greater with freshly brewed coffee, cheese and biscuits. Then we looked out the window and that whew is to die for !!

The rooms were well appointed, clean and very clean. The port drink on the sideboard was a great touch.

Breakfast was magnificent. The hoss were eager to help and provided and excellent service in arranging diner at another establishment !,
,

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
204 reviews
11.5 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay View Guesthouse
Bay View Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanlon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanlon House

Address: 6 Marshall St, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: £77 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanlon House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanlon House is everything a seaside accommodation should be - a perfect mix of history, character and hospitality. Centrally located under the Nut and close to the beach. Enjoy our quality en-suited rooms and spectacular dinning room overlooking the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanlon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanlon House Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing