We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class B&B”
Review of Hanlon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanlon House
Ranked #3 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Exploring the north west of Tasmania, we decided on a stay in Stanley and booked a night at Hanlon House. I can honestly say this has to be one of the best B&B's in the world! Tall order, I know, but we have stayed in a few in UK and Europe and this is definitely "up there".
From the moment we crossed the threshold until the minute of departure we were made to feel so welcome - almost like old friends - and the location of this lovely house is perfect. Local knowledge provided by Maxine and Graham was extensive, breakfast was delicious and certainly not a rushed affair in a sunny dining room with a view of the beach.

Our room was so comfortable with a king size bed and an ensuite. Opposite was a sitting room with a log fire where we enjoyed a glass of wine before venturing out for dinner.

We will certainly return one day as not only was our stay memorable but there was so much to do that we didn't have time to do it all! Good - that ensures a return trip! Thank you Maxine and Graham !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ally46Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

A very very friendly welcome and better than expected service and accomodation. Maxine and Graham can rightly be very proud of this excellent B&B and the help they provide with their local knowledge. Unfortunately, we only had 1 nights stay on this trip, but are already looking forward to a return when time allows. A short walk is all that is required to all that Stanley has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We wanted a little quiet peaceful weekend away from life's regular stresses. We were blessed to find accommodation available at Hanlon House with Maxine & Graham. We were given the quiet self sufficient garden unit - so suitable for us, we loved our time there - & it would be so suitable even for some one travelling with a wheel chair relative. Thank you M & G - Hubby esp enjoyed his little yard chats with Graham - we hope to visit again some time in the future.

Room Tip: My only tip would be - try to book early. This place is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodeo1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A lovely house perfectly run by Maxine and Graham who even when invisible make you welcome and at home.
Positioned beachside in gorgeous Stanley, our room had ocean views and sounds, it was so comfortable and felt like home.
The complimentary breakfast is something to compare to the best cafés but with much more as these lovely people serve you on their huge unforgettable table with just about anything you may desire!
Hanson House topped off an amazing time in Stanley...thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorica_235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed to Hanlon house with a smile, a cheese plate and a roaring fire. Great place to stay, maxine has thought of everything you could ever need and more. Stanley really is worth a visit. I am recommending Hanlon house to friends.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank popcorn_cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here with elderly parents and were greatly impressed by the warm and friendly hosts. There is superb attention to detail in every regard, and the breakfast would rival any top CBD hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt completely at home from the moment we arrived. This is one of the best accommodation places we've stayed in. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank malnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If there was a definition of "best B&B's" in the dictionary, there would be a picture of Hanlon House. I cannot praise this B&B enough. Maxine and Graham have been operating Hanlon House for seventeen years and they have everything down to a science. The house itself is beautiful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast Is the best we have ever had at a B&B. We totally felt at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baldur13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Bay View Guesthouse
Bay View Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Touchwood Cottages
Touchwood Cottages
#3 of 10 in Stanley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanlon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanlon House

Address: 6 Marshall St, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: £75 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanlon House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanlon House is everything a seaside accommodation should be - a perfect mix of history, character and hospitality. Centrally located under the Nut and close to the beach. Enjoy our quality en-suited rooms and spectacular dinning room overlooking the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanlon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanlon House Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing