We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts, amazing location”
Review of Hanlon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanlon House
Ranked #2 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, amazing location”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Maxine and Graham are wonderful people with a real talent. They made us feel so welcome in their family home, whilst giving us privacy. There were 5 other couples staying the same night, yet we all received personal service and the house did not feel at all crowded. I honestly don't know how they do it!

We stayed in an upstairs loft room which was both quiet and comfortable. The house itself is on 3 levels and has the most amazing views of the ocean from the spacious dining room.

Included in our rate was a 3 course dinner which Maxine lovingly prepared for my husband, son and I (the other couples ate at the local pub, their loss, haaa). We had fresh chicken and vegetable soup, lamb shanks with vegetables and apple/rhubarb crumble for dessert and it was DIVINE! They also have a great selection of Tasmanian wines to chose from, all reasonably priced.

Breakfast was amazing. A huge array of choice. We had the 'maxine special' which was eggs with salmon and baby spinach but there was a choice of at least 10 other optionsfor hot food. Homestyle jams, King Island yougurt, home-made bread was among some of the other tempting offerings included for breakfast.

I was very impressed with Hanlon House and my only regret is that we only stayed one night. We will definitely return again. Stanley is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melwollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
138
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Austalia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed 1 night in March 2010 whilst driving a circuit of Tasmania. Hanlon House is located at the foot of The Nut and only a short walk into town. Maxine and Graham were friendly hosts. We stayed in the Alice Rose room and were very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing as Maxine cooked to order for the gusts in a large sun filled breakfast room with ocean views. Parking was off street to the rear of the property. A must do is to go up The Nut via the chairlift (or walk if you feel fit) and be amazed at the view of the sea. Highly recommended accommodation!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Hanlon House is a real gem. Not only is the house extremely appealing to look at, it is in a fantastic location in the beautiful town of Stanley and to top it all off you will experience a warm and genuine welcome from owners Graeme & Maxine. We were welcomed with our choice of hot drink (we had tea) and a cheese platter - a lovely touch! We had a cosy room at the front of the house across from the living room, situated in the original part of the house which was built in 1904 (the addition at the rear of the house is sympathetic to the original and as such goes almost undetected). The room was spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and had a well appointed ensuite bathroom with shower. The room was serviced daily - what a treat to have fresh, thick, fluffy towels (and plenty of them!) and the ensuite was well stocked with soap, moisturiser, first aid bits and pieces and a decent hairdryer! I had read on the wesite that dinner was available by prior arrangement and after speaking to Maxine on the telephone had organised to dine in on our first night. We were surprised to be presented with a menu of options for a two course dinner or for an extra charge three courses (choice of two entrees, 3 mains and 2 desserts) - dinner served at your requested time. Maxine is an excellent cook and our dinner was nothing short of delicious. So much so, in fact, that we decided to ask Maxine if she would mind cooking for us again on our second night. We weren't disappointed, dinner was excellent. Breakfasts are also a real treat with an unbelievable selection of cooked options, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, toast and jams. The other great thing is that breakfast is on offer from 07:30-09:30 and no need to specify the night before what time you want to eat. The dining room is equipped with a massive, beautiful wooden table that seats 12 so meals are shared with the other guests which creates a homey atmosphere and encourages guest interaction. We had our dinners to ourselves as the other guests dined out but breakfasts were enjoyed in joint company. Graeme and Maxine keep on hand plenty of brochures and literature on local attractions, menus of local restaurants and are also happy to impart their own wealth of knowledge on the area and Tasmania. Hanlon House and the township of Stanley is a destination we will definitely revisit!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Everything a hosted bed and breakfast should be. Friendly hosts who couldn't do enough to help, comfortable bedrooms with all amenities and a great breakfast in the morning. We stayed two nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Best tstay of our trip so far. From Hanlon House, you are two minutes from the Nut, two minutes from the beach and two minutes to a great restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Homely family atmosphere and very clean. The hosts, Maxine and Graham are generous and great at conversation. My colleagues and I had an early start the next day so the hosts got up and made a full service breakfast available for us at 5am.

Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonbresnehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Fantastic hospitality from Maxine and Graham. We felt like part of the family. It started with a cold drink for each of us on arrival and a nice chat about our travels and plans. They were very helpful with information on the local area, restaurant recommendations etc. The rooms were excellent (we were travelling with our 3 children 19,13,9 ) We had all of the top floor- a suite of two bedrooms plus a small room for the 19 yr old. All were spotless and beautifully furnished in elegant english manor style.
Breakfast was cooked to order as well as cereal, toast, juices etc. Nothing was a bother to our hosts. Best breakfast we've ever had on holidays.
Nice guest lounge with open fire too.
It is a pity that there aren't more people like Maxine and Graham who take a pride in what they do.!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Born2RunAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

What an enjoyable 1 night stay ...it definately should have been longer. Hosts Maxine and Graham made us feel like part of the family. Having both been born and bred in Stanley they were a mind of good information ...from restaurant meals to distance hikes. The rooms were extremely comfortable ...and breakfast (the hardest descision was what to have!) was amazing, perhaps one of the best around. A memorable stay, Stanley and the surrounding area well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FWSQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
128 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
0.3 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanlon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanlon House

Property: Hanlon House
Address: 6 Marshall St, Stanley, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanlon House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanlon House is everything a seaside accommodation should be - a perfect mix of history, character and hospitality. Centrally located under the Nut and close to the beach. Enjoy our quality en-suited rooms and spectacular dinning room overlooking the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanlon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanlon House Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing