We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley Village Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked this after leaving Hobart a day early because of the bushfires. While the many booking websites specified that there was no room that would allow a child, when I called the hotel they were more than willing to accommodate us.
I think we got the best room (number six on the bottom), as the fairy penguins went right under the window as they came in for the night. There was a lovely view of the bay from the big window. The bed was a little soft for my liking, but I was so tired I slept well anyway. The little touches like bathrobes, chocolates and a selection of DVDs were nice too.
Breakfast was lovely, with a nice selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurts, and the owners were very friendly with lots of local knowledge. We would definitely stay here again (we wanted to, but our room had already been snapped up by the time we tried to rebook it!).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbee1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
87
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were pleasantly surprised, not only with Stanley and the quaint feel of the village, but the motel in general. While the facility is dated, they have done a good job with facelifting the easy-to-revamp components. The train station breakfast is adorable, and the staff was incredibly friendly. We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lezwopeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We loved the waterside location, being able to lie in bed and watch the bay, as well as gaze up at the Nut from the bathroom. Sure the room isn't huge & the plumbing from other rooms a tad noisy at times but the pluses far outweighed that. Our budget didn't stretch to dinner at the restaurant this time although the menu looked fabulous so maybe next time however we really enjoyed our continental breakfast in the Whistle Stop Cafe - a great selection and such friendly staff. There is a little lawn area near the water with a picnic table so sat there and ate fish & chips for our dinner( from the shop right across the road from the motel) and watched the world go by - so relaxing... And the complimetary chocolates in the room deserve a special mention, not sure if they make them themselves but they were so delicious. Great location too, only a few minutes walk to the centre of the very picturesque village of Stanley.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Fantastic hospitality by Phil and Debbie. Both of them work so hard throughout the day and night to ensure guests are looked after. The food at the evening meal was simply sensational and I would not eat anywhere else despite there being some a la carte fancy restaurants in town. Thanks so much for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We are a family of four and stayed in the Anchorage cottage. It is full of charm and very well appointed. Situated right on the waterfront and close to everything. The beds were luxurious and well received after days of walking. Hot chocolate and plunger coffee were welcome extras to the included supplies as our December weather was cool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjaaggeerrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the retreat cottage, enjoyed every moment. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The view of the sea was very relaxing. Breakfast was included in the package. Stanley is a beautiful clean town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in October and really enjoyed everything about this Motel, the rooms are very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Amazing views from the room, we also got to see the penguins each night. Great breakfast, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved Stanley and loved this motel. Would recommend this motel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzaF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
185 reviews
11.3 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Village Motel

Property: Stanley Village Motel
Address: 11 - 17 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Village Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Stanley, the only place to stay is on the waterfront at Stanley Village. Stanley Village is a boutique waterfront hotel and restaurant nestled under The Nut, within walking distance of activities in the township. THE BOND STORE restaurant is located in the historic bluestone building built in 1835 from ships ballast. Our fully licensed a-la-carte restaurant serves the finest in locally grown produce specialising in superb steak and succulent seafood. Explore the area, enjoy a delicious dinner in the restaurant, watch the sun go down - but you will be asked to share the view with the local penguin population who happily wonder through the property and entertain! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stanley Village Motel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing