We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and comfortable accommodation”
Review of Stamps of Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stamps of Stanley
Gold Coast, Qld
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A warm welcome and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed here for a week in January with my children and had an amazing stay. The hosts, Peter & Lynda, were welcoming and accommodating with our requests. You can tell they are passionate about Stanley and are a wealth of knowledge about the town and local attractions. Stamps of Stanley was a great base to explore the local area and very family-friendly. Comfortable, spacious rooms with all the mod-cons, I couldn't have asked for a better holiday location. Our room had an unbeatable view and was fantastic value-for-money. Thank you, Stamps of Stanley!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
45
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our 18yr old daughter.We enjoyed the quaint customs house suite with it's dormer windows and even my 6'5" husband managed the sloped ceilings. Staff were helpful and accomodating. Stamps is well placed in this lovely historic town with nearby Moby Dicks Cafe providing the most scrumptious breakfasts.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Excellent place to stay. Very clean and neat. Warm and cosy.
Quite unique. Perfect for two couples or a family. Good value for money. We could have stayed longer if our trip itinery had allowed.
VERY friendly and helpful staff. Lovely little town. Loved the views.
Had great breakfast next door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenngrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed in the customs house suite and yes it was modern, spacious and clean. There were 2 areas, a bedroom with queensize bed, small tv and a small sitting area with 2 tatty cane chairs. You have to be aware that this is a room in the converted attic area, with sloping ceilings. So if you are tall this is not ideal. The shower area also has a sloping ceiling. The other area had a single bed and a double that is past it's use by date. There is a slightly larger tv and 2 strange looking chairs, (have a look at the Reviewers photos) not comfortable. The weather was really nice, which made this apartment very hot, luckily there is an aircon, which cuts out if you put the kettle on, but is easily reset? There is no kitchen area as such. Water is sourced from the shower area. There is a microwave, so cooking simple meals and washing up is a chore. I was a bit concerned about the fact that the other 2 apartments could acces the customs house via adjoining doors, but I presume these are locked. The host was a little distant in the sense that he didn't seem too friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and this place is very central, surrounded by eating places and pubs and quiet at night. I wouldn't recommend this for small children or older people who had difficulty climbing the 2 sets of stairs which can't be closed off.

Room Tip: The postmasters apartment looks the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyPetlyn, Owner at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
In response to "ZigzagMandurah". Not everyone has the same taste as you. You are only the second person that has had a COMPLAINT as such since we have become the owners in March 2011. To me the word "tatty" says that the chairs are falling apart, which is not the case. The aircon cannot cut out when the kettle is put on as they are on different circuits. The owner that you discribed as a little distant is also the towns electrician, penguin tour guide and postman As for saying that other people from the other two units can access your area it is totally unfounded as both other doors are deadlocked as soon as Customs House is rented. You are the only one with access to your area. How many hotels have you stayed at that have the tea/cofee facilities in the actual bathroom, with CH you are only accessing the water from the bathroom. We take pride in our accommodation and are sorry that you felt the need to be so public with your complaints and not say anything to us, the owners, in person
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Mum and I spent 2 nights (3 1/2 days) in this quiet, quaint, peaceful place. Just what we wanted. Being off peak the town and surrounding attractions were not all operating but we found plenty to do. Great food in a variety of places: all meals b'fast, lunch & dinner. Need to walk or one might put on weight.... Already planning a return trip.
Self-catering accommodation suitable for solo, couples or family groups up to 8-10 persons (by co-joining the unique 3 rooms).
Based within the Post Office complex hence its name.
We were also blessed with amazing weather, cool but sunny.

Room Tip: All rooms have views and are great. All good ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris31051961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were more than impressed with Stamps of Stenley. The cheaper room we chose -an "ensuite room", was actually two rooms, and was an apartment that took up the entire top floor. It was so roomy, two sitting areas beneath two dormer windows looking south. No business centre? - its on top of the post office. Some people didnt like that the toilet is located behind the bedroom wall and though discrete hasn't a door. It's not an issue, as there is a door into the bigger room if privacy is needed. There was a flatscreen TV, digital and also a DVD/video player. Books and DVDs included. Pretty good for less than $100 per night. We will definitely be going back.(I had a look at the downstairs apartment room and it was the same price but didn't have the view of the above apartment. Had a separate kitchen area.)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This place was just lovely - we stayed in the 'Exchange' ensuite studio. Very clean and spacious with all the facilities we needed for our stay. It was cosy and warm, with books and magazines (and some fairly dated videos!).

Such a great place and the couple obviously put in a lot of effort to make sure that everyone has a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Sue also gave me lots of pointers on the best places to go around Stanley and the North Coast.

Highly recommend, and for such a great price! Wish we had more time here, would have loved to extend our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
0.2 mi away
Touchwood Cottages
Touchwood Cottages
#3 of 10 in Stanley
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamps of Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamps of Stanley

Property: Stamps of Stanley
Address: 11-13 Church St, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamps of Stanley 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamps of Stanley is situated beside and above the Stanley Post Office in the heart of Stanley Tasmania. We overlook Sawyer's Bay, The Greenhills, Tatlow's Beach and directly under our iconic "Nut".Being centrally located, shops, restaurants, The Stanley Hotel, our award winning Godfrey's Beach, Moby Dick's breakfast bar and the wharf are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stamps of Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamps Of Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing