We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Stamps of Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stamps of Stanley
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great spot in Stanley. Hostess was very hospitable and provided good advice on what to do and where to eat within the Stanley precinct. Stamps upstairs apartment was very comfortable and gave good views of Stanley. It was very clean and had plenty of inhouse creasture comforts. It can be a little claustrophobic, however even I (at 6'1") found it ok. I can recommend this place as a nice and comfortable stay at the price.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Stamps of Stanley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed one night and ended up booking another, the room was much larger and unique than expected, amazing place, the scenery of this little town is amazing and can be witnessed from the back porch, not to mention the friendly dog Barley who can't get enough of the ball

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbob1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were surprised by the size of the room, it was clean and well presented and we made use of the DVD collection. Yes the kitchen is small but it was just right for the two of us. I would definitely stay there again. The seal cruise is a must to do in Stanley, it was an awesome experience.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I spent one night last week in the newly renovated Exchange Studio and couldn't have been happier with the facility, the warm reception by Lynda or the incredibly clean room, kitchen and bathroom. The photo of the room with the blue walls just doesn't do it justice. It is now a fresh cream room with a comfortable queen sized bed, comfy lounge chairs, modern TV, stereo, magazines, books, CDs and air conditioning. The kitchen has a stove, microwave, toaster, kettle and bar fridge and plenty of crockery and cutlery. The bathroom is spacious and like everything else in the apartment, incredibly clean. To access the apartment it is just up one step and spacious enough for anyone needing a walking frame. The town itself is now my favourite place in Tasmania with lovely little shops, cafes, galleries and spectacular views wherever I looked. I look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

After we had finished the chairlift to the Nut whilst chatting to Peter we mentioned that we had just arrived and asked him to advise us of available accommodation. He rang Lynda, and bingo we had the loft. It was all that we hoped for and more..fantastic ambiance...cosy furniture, friendly hosts...and superb views of the bay. I fell in love with Stanley and having the
Stanley Hotel and the great Moby Dick's breakie cafe within walking distance was fantastic. The stairs will be an even bigger challenge as we get older but it will always be worth the the effort. Thanks for a great night...
Lesya and Mark

Room Tip: If you have creaky knees Peter and Lynda are renovating a ground floor unit as we speak..if it is ev...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodenml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Very clean apartment and plenty of space for a family of 5 although breakfast would have to be eaten in shifts as the dining area only has room for 2!
Location is very good but then again most of the holiday lets in Stanley have a very good location as it is a beautifully compact little town.
Kitchenette area is primitive and when we were there the barbeque was in the middle of a construction site so do yourselves a favour and eat out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TassieDevils1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in the very unique 'Customs House' studio and found that the quaintness of it suited Stanley to a tee. The apartment was clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable. My husband, who is over 6ft didn't find the sloping ceilings an issue except for in the shower which made it a bit difficult for hair washing, although it is a hand-held shower, so there is a way around it. Our only real issue was, although it is advertised as a studio apartment so we were only expecting the basics, the meal preparation area itself could do with a bit more thought as there isn't a lot of benchroom to actually prepare your meals and, as there is no sink, the washing up also needs to be done on this little bit of bench space. Perhaps another cupboard next to the existing one, but with a clear benchtop, would be the go to give a bit more usable space in this kitchenette area? Overall 'Customs House' was great value for money and we would recommend.

Room Tip: Customs House is upstairs, so needs to be taken into consideration.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyPetlyn, Owner at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you Tracy S for taking the time to write a review about our property. We realize that the bench in the kitchenette does need to be larger and a sink needs to be installed. It is part of our goal to do these renovations but unfortunately it also needs funds. I can assure you it will happen before the end of 2013. You made the comment about the shower, we did put in the the hand held shower as we saw that a fixed shower head could be a problem for tall people. We have just finished renovating "The Exchange" unit so Customs will be next. Once again thanks tor taking the time to review and we are glad that your stay was enjoyable.
Regards,
Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Touchwood Cottages
Touchwood Cottages
#3 of 10 in Stanley
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
0.2 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamps of Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamps of Stanley

Address: 11-13 Church St, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Stanley
Price Range: £75 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamps of Stanley 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamps of Stanley is situated beside and above the Stanley Post Office in the heart of Stanley Tasmania. We overlook Sawyer's Bay, The Greenhills, Tatlow's Beach and directly under our iconic "Nut".Being centrally located, shops, restaurants, The Stanley Hotel, our award winning Godfrey's Beach, Moby Dick's breakfast bar and the wharf are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stamps of Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamps Of Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing