We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning accommodation in a breathtaking location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Stunning accommodation in a breathtaking location”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Horizon Deluxe Apartments have two things going for them - they are beautifully presented places to stay and they are located in a heaven on earth part of the world. Stanley has to be one of the most breathtaking locations in Australia. Until I saw Stanley I thought New Zealand scenery topped Australia. The two apartments sit atop a ridge overlooking Stanley township and coastline. They are modern and beautifully equipped. The views are to die for. Everything about the apartments is well conceived and luxurious. There's even Wi Fi and Pay TV. King size bed. Huge shower. Two person spa. Everything you could want. Hot breakfast provisions were a bit scant - one sausage and one slice of bacon each (frozen), and 2 slices of toast each. The croissant, danish and bagel in the freezer were a nice touch but basically inedible after being frozen. This could have been done better but otherwise we couldn't find fault. Besides being incredibly beautiful, Stanley is a lovely little village to poke around and the specialty shops are great. There is of course the chairlift at the "Nut", and a visit to historic Highfield House is also worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronnykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
137
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

This is a repeat visit for us, our third stay. Every time we have stayed it has been the same, beautiful, peaceful, luxurious comfortable accommodation. We have stayed in both units and they are as good as each other. The view is excellent, breakfast provisions provided, extremely quiet and good facilities. Lovely balcony to sit out and watch the bay and the sun go down. This has become one of our favourite places to stay on the NW Coast. Looking forward to our next visit. Good hair dryer and free wi fi.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GingerRose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mole Creek, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2013

If you are looking for a luxurious escape then look no further! My husband and I stayed for two nights in Godfrey, it was the most relaxing stay we have had anywhere. The apartment is total luxury and the views wonderful. I would highly recommend this accommodation to anybody who wants a secluded couples escape in luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluedusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

As with many reviews on here, we only have good things to say about this place. We were impressed from the moment we walked in. We stayed in Godfrey for two nights, we got a great deal and it included a complimentary bottle of wine and lots of breakfast provisions, bacon, eggs, pastries, cereals, the works! The view is more spectacular than the photos show, truly! Using the deep two person spa while watching the view or the stars was awesome. The whole apartment is presented and decorated really well, modern and very clean. The king bed and linen were great, bathroom and shower felt luxurious, lounge area was comfy with a big tv, surround sound speakers and some CDs and DVDs provided. Stanley is a really interesting place to visit too. Really can't think of anything that would have made it better!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Set high on the hill opposite The Nut in Stanley these two apartments are gorgeous. Check-in is through the Seaview Inn just slightly lower down the hill, if anything is needed or required it is easy to drop in and ask. We stayed in Godfrey, which has a charcoal and white theme with touches of blue. A huge bathroom with moulded glass basin and shower screen. The shower has both hand held and a storm shower in the ceiling. I asked for this unit as I was not keen on the green walls in the Tatlow unit. A car is a must as it is a steep hike up and down into Stanley township itself. The wall of windows gives a stunning view both day and night, sunrise being spectacular over The Nut. However the electric roller blinds don't give much in the way of room darkening, so be prepared for an early awakening depending on the time of the year. There is an outside deck with BBQ but it was too cold and windy in October to do more than step out and admire the view before huddling back inside. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything including a Nespresso coffee machine (not a percolator as it says on the website) which comes with capsules. One odd note, the oven will not work unless the timer is first set, this took a bit of trouble shooting as there is no manual. But we didn't go there to cook, so no real problem. The huge spa takes a lloooonnngg time to fill so plan ahead.
All in all we would return any time we could.

Room Tip: There are only two suits, identical in layout but mirror image. My only suggestion is to check out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killara23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

What an amazing place. The instant wow factor of looking out over Stalnley from the top of a hill as you arrive, and then you open the door to stunningly appointed, modern single room apartment complete with double spa, fully equipped kitchen and laundry hidden in a cupboard. Also included is an extremely spacious living area, with a deck looking out over the town of Stanley and private BBQ facilities.

The staff have been extremely helpful during our weekend stay and we actually found a lot more to do in Stanley than we initially thought.

We will definitely be back, though the nightly cost may mean we could only afford this as a weekend getaway.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This place is fantastic! You will not find a better place to stay in Tasmania.

Stayed here for 2 nights and probably the most memorable place I've stayed at in such a long time. Easy to get to, check in was easy and friendly. The breakfast provided was delicious and the rooms unbelievable. Well laid out, everything you need, large showers and a fantastic spa.

The view, awesome! Lush green paddocks and the Stanley Nut, looking over the ocean, I wish I was back there right now. If you are ever in Tasmania and on the Northern coast, don't go past this place, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodgyvalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
185 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
212 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Deluxe Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Deluxe Apartments

Property: Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Address: 88 Dovecote Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Horizon Deluxe Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the farmland hills overlooking the township of Stanley, the views from Horizon Apartments are simply captivating. Private decks allow guests to unwind while taking in those spectacular vistas over Stanley, the ancient volcanic formation, The Nut, and surrounding beaches. Apartments each have a king-size bed, leather lounges and a full kitchen, including the all-important coffee machine. The modern design extends throughout the open-plan living and bedroom areas and to the ensuite bathroom, with a brilliant freestanding spa overlooking the pastures to the water. Separate bathrooms also feature eye-catching floor-to-ceiling tiles and ultra-modern fittings. Generous breakfast provisions are provided, along with Austar and WiFi facilities. The property is a few minutes' drive from Stanley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Deluxe Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Deluxe Apartments Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing