We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster”
Review of Hursey Seafoods

Hursey Seafoods
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Stanley
Price range: US$8 - US$95
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Hursey Seafoods, based in Stanley Tasmania, is a major catcher of the renown Southern Rock Lobster (crayfish). Patrons can purchase a range of seafoods; wholesale, takeaway or dine-in for lunch or tea. In 1974 James Snr and Valerie Hursey relocated from Dover (Sth East Tasmania) to Stanley (Nth West Tasmania). In 1987, to complement a growing company fishing fleet, a commercial factory/takaway/dine in premises was established as a memorium to James Snr and Valerie's son, Patrick, who was lost at sea attempting to rescue an adventurer, rowing across Bass Strait. In June 2015, the property was extensively renovated and now seats 100 diners, overlooking the bay and nestled under the Stanley Nut. Hursey Seafoods' fleet of nine vessels catches Southern Rock Lobster, Giant Crab, Stipey Trumpeter, Gummy Shark, flathead and other local reef fish. Lobster is retained live in sea tanks on premises, which ensures supply all year and provides consumers with the very best taste. Hursey Seafoods is open every day, apart from Christmas, for lunch and dinner. Takeaway open: 11.00 AM to 7.00 PM Sun - Thu, 11.00 PM to 7.30 PM Fri & Sat Restaurant open: 12.00 PM to 2.30 PM (seated by) & 5.30 PM to 8.00 PM (seated by)
Wynyard, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lobster”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had the Seafood Platter with half lobster. We loved the lobster so much we returned a few weeks later and had the lobster with chips and salad. It was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    142
    70
    41
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice fish and chips and a pudding afterwards too”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Doesn't look like much on the outside, come to that nor on the inside but the fish and chips is splendid. Fresh fish cooked crumbed/battered, scallops, squid rings, prawns etc on out seafood platter for two was delicious. All for under $70! The sticky date pudding was light and moist. All this on a public holiday when other places in Stanley couldn't be bothered to open. Their loss, our gain!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank basename164_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good fresh seafood, great value”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We had seafood chowder for starters followed by tasmanian scallops in garlic sauce. Both were delicious and good sized!
The kid's fish and chips were massive and also very tasty though they should have kids meals priced per dish rather than $12 for a whole meal including juice and ice cream.
Overall enjoyable and I'd go again.

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“turning into mermaids wth the amount of seafood we ate”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

the staff at this restaurant were fabulous, we couldnt have a table at the time we walked in but the waitress took my number and rang a couple of times to give me an update of the time a table would be ready, and when we did get a table the girls were sooo very good and nothing was a bother at all

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ziggie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fresh and decent size serving of fish for the price. We didnt have to wait long and the staff was friendly. We enjoyed our food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hursey Seafoods also viewed

 
Stanley, Tasmania
 

Been to Hursey Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing