We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Touchwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Touchwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“What a find !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We arrived in Stanley without accommodation, so we were very happy to find Touchwood Ottages available. We were given The Pines...a two bedroom cottage at the back of the property...& what a cottage. Fantastic views across to the east inlet...we watched the tide come in. A queen bed upstairs in the roof...very cute. The kitchen had all we could need. The best of this though is the proximity to the owners' cafe & gallery. Unfortunately we didn't get to eat in the cafe but we hear it is delicious. The hosts ,Trevor & Kathy, were extremely welcoming. They provided fresh eggs, bread, cereal, milk, butter & jams...so we didn't have to go looking for breakfast. Sadly we only had time to stay here for 1 night. :(

Room Tip: Choose The Pines cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jotibarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Pines Touchwood Cottage was one of the highlights of our trip to Tassie last month. Was so lovely to stay there after some of our smaller motel accommodation, and Terry and Kathy went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and have the place set up so you feel like you're at home straight away. Milk, bread,jams, cereals and eggs in the fridge along with port and chocolates. The place was very clean and tidy and everything either there at Touchwood or few doors away such as restaurants, local hotel and even a chemist open late every day. Will definitely be back here again and for longer next time.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed up in the loft bedroom which was lovely but also because we were shorter tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elcee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed in the studio for only one night and wished we were able to stay longer. What a beautiful set-up. The studio was just perfect and with a great view. Right in the main street of Stanley it was a perfect and quiet location, even though we were close to the cafe we were not disturbed at all. Lovely stay and next time we would certainly book for longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We only stayed the one night in The Studio. Clean, quiet, homely unit situated behind the owner's cafe and pretty well in the middle of Stanley making it close to shops, eateries and The Nut. A nice view of the bay from the unit's windows but a little under the gaze of the cafe once you stepped out the front door; not that you would spend much time there. The Heritage cottage would offer more privacy if that is what you wanted. A very comfortable Queen bed and good sized bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rpaharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in the Touchwood Heritage 3 bdrm, 2 doubles and one twin bedroom. On arrival you go next door to the cafe - behind the gallery and have a lovely afternoon tea. The house is clean, and decorated in a colonial style. Stanley is a lovely town, lots of nice restaurants and cafes. A 'must do' is the walk up 'The Nut' for a great view and nice walk around the top.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank map_bgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

When I was looking for accommodation in Stanley there were no reviews for these self-contained cottages. I just happened by chance to come across the Touchstone website when I was looking at restaurants in Stanley. Perhaps, rather unfortunately for other people, Kathy and Trevor have the whole business up for sale although they may find a buyer who has equally high standards. They are a lovely and friendly couple who must have to work very hard. All the food including the delicious looking cakes are home made. Kathy seems to run the gift shop and Trevor the café.

On our 7 week trip to Australia from England our daughter took most of our photographs. I have noticed that although almost all of the accommodation I had booked was excellent, due mainly to reading reviews on TripAdviser, quite often the outside of the buildings weren't worth taking a photograph. However everything about Touchwood was beautiful and we have more pictures of Touchwood than anywhere else we stayed. I needn't go into a long description as the photographs speak for themselves although it has been a problem taking a small selection.

As we had driven from Zeehan we were too late for lunch but had some delicious savoury scones for tea. The tea room is absolutely delightful as well as the gift shop. As the other reviewer has said, we also loved every minute of our short stay. We walked up the very steep path to the top of The Nut as the cable car had closed for the evening, and went on the lovely walk at the top.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingsunsetbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

There are three Touchwood Cottages - Touchwood, The Studio and The Pines. We stayed in The Studio for two nights and loved every minute of our brief stay. Kathy and Trevor, our hosts, greeted us warmly on arrival and offered us Devonshire Tea. Take it from me, Kathy's scones were absolutely mouth watering! From our windows we enjoyed spectacular views over Stanley and the ocean. The Studio is meant for two people only and is self-contained with full kitchen, spacious bathroom and open living space with an exceptionally comfortable queen bed. There is a wood fire and electric heating to keep the cottage cosy and warm on cold nights. The cottage has a romantic, country feel but with all the modern comforts to make the stay enjoyable. Attached to Touchwood is a Craft Gallery and Cafe which serves delicious morning and afternoon teas and lunches. The lunch menu is interesting and we enjoyed our choice. Included in our tariff were breakfast provisions and the Devonshire Afternoon Tea on arrival. Located in the main street of Stanley at the base of The Nut, there are restaurants, craft shops, a hotel, post office etc. nearby. Of course, The Nut chairlift which can take you to the top, is just down the street but we took the not too difficult walk up to the top. Touchwood is a unique and lovely place to stay in the equally unique and lovely town of Stanley.

  • Liked — Location, ambience, comfort, views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
0.1 mi away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touchwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchwood Cottages

Property: Touchwood Cottages
Address: 31 Church St, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Touchwood Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a breath of fresh air? If so, you can't beat the quaint little seaside village of Stanley on Tasmania's North West Coast. With its whistling wind and gorgeous countryside, Stanley is the ideal base for exploring all the natural beauty and attractions the region has to offer. Noted for its friendliness and warm hospitality Touchwood Cottages are situated in the heart of Stanley and are the perfect place to relax and unwind. There is an excellent cafe on-site using an abundance of local fresh produce open six days of the week and some evenings. A design Gallery and gift shop, choc full of Tasmanian product, complete the small complex which, with its cobble stone walkways and old street lamps, is reminiscent of an English scene! All three cottages are 4 star rated and decorated in a colonial style blended with modern touches. They are well appointed, full of character and charm and extremely comfortable. All are fully self-contained. We are located within a stone's throw of the beaches, eateries, attractions & shops. Hearty breakfast supplies, a fresh fruit bowl and chocolates with port are included in your tariff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Touchwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchwood Cottages Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing