We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Motel Strahan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel Strahan
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here last week - spotless, big rooms, comfortable beds and close to town centre. Only downside was no wifi but that is more a Tasmanian poor tele communication problem.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Fantastic little Motel on the fringe of the Town Centre, all new and modern. After a long 5 hour trip from Hobart the recept on arrival was welcoming and informative. The rooms spotless and the big king bed very comfortable. A good place to relax, unwind and work out where and what to do the next day. Motel while not in the town centre is close enough to all the attractions either by a short 5 min drive or easy stroll of 15 minutes down and 20 back (up hill). Really enjoyed our 3 days in Strahan.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistyblue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We booked using one of the on line services and got the impression there were limited rooms available however the town itself was very quiet and there are better places in the town with decent views. Room service is erratic but overall it was ok. Would definitely choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We picked this motel because of the location, we knew we were going to be very busy and thought a motel out of the main tourist area would be quieter. The staff/owners(?) were lovely and very welcoming, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large (but no curtains on the window and you could see outlines at night).

We did have issues with hearing every noise from the next room and the smoke alarm going off every time we cooked toast (we ended up fanning the toaster to stop this happening or leaving the door open). We had the breakfast basket which was sufficient, one morning the bread was mouldy though (I am sure that if I had mentioned this it would have been rectified but we had to be on the wharf at 8am so didn't have time). There was no microwave in the room. Food in the centre of town is expensive but there is a lovely little take away one minutes walk away.

This review makes it sound worse than it was... I would stay there again but not for the same rate of $110 per night.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back as we were right on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The motel was pretty clean and quite big compare to other ones we have stayed before.
The bathroom was ok, but the shower screen could be better as the water were splashing out while we were having shower.

It wasn't noisy at night, but in the morning when cars are leaving it was loud.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

After driving around the west coast decided to stay in Strahan. Normal sized room,king sized bed with older TV. Bathroom was overall good. Room was comfortable, carpet had a few stains.
Could hear noise from neighbours.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nice basic motel a little pricey but on par with all others in this area due to tourist trade .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliej61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
946 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Strahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Strahan

Address: 3 Andrew St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: £67 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Strahan 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Strahan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Strahan Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing