We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Motel Strahan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel Strahan
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I don't get to Strahan all that often, but when I do I stay here. Nice people with a nice country motel. And very, very clean which is great.

Strahan is a beautiful little hamlet and well worth a visit if you are plotting a tourist trail around the Apple Isle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed as part of a Car Club Tour of Tassy

A bit out of town, but a nice 20min walk around the water will get to the town centre , there is a takeaway and bottle O just down the road 2min walk, you will need to go to town for dinner as there is no restaurant. very nice rooms ( only 13 ) all at ground level.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSWSTEAMPOWER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked the accomodation very lastminute and was worried that We would be too late to book and checkin. In phone conversations I was warmly assured by the propertier who specifically looked out for out arrival later that night. We were really appreciative of her care to our booking. The room was very large and well appointed, the beds myself and my travel partner agreed were the most comfiest softest beds we have ever slept in! We were left in our room a light breakfast of toast and cereal which was very considerate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissy_Loutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Decidely average, if you would like to make yourself a cup of tea beware...try and fill the kettle when only the bathroom is available,...wash your cup? Only the bath taps or wash hand basin available. Surely the health regulations demand that you don't wash your cup next to the toilet bowl!
The motel is a 15 minute walk from town, the room is adequate but it is a motel room not a hotel room. Good size bed, room is clean, staff friendly enough but e- mail access is only in 12 hour segments and it constantly drops out.
Would I recommend this motel..well only if you can't find somewhere else.

Room Tip: Find other accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and I have to say, it was one of the best places we had stayed at whilst in Tasmania for 2 weeks. Very affordable, free wifi, stocked up bar fridge, great plasma TV and king size bed! We were very comfortable. Thank you

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LilLozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent a very comfortable couple of days at this motel. It is a little deceiving from the road but the rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the manager had the room warm for me on arrival. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make me comfortable. The stay was in off season so the meal options are a little limited but the little fish and chip/pizza place across the road was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ossie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for one night (because Strahan is a small town with 600+ residents, you can see it in a day).

We had six travellers, and booked 3 rooms. All 3 rooms were clean, and comfortable. Because we stayed in the low season, it was $100 a room a night, bargain!

Did I mention that every room had Foxtel (cable) and wifi for free? Yes, wifi is free. Sure there is a time limit, and you had to get the logins from the front office, but for $100 per night, that is a minor inconvenience.

The staff was polite and friendly, but not overly chatty, which was fine.

Location was good especially if you have a car. It's walking distance to the town. Bear in mind that Strahan is tiny, so walking to places won't take you very long.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Strahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Strahan

Address: 3 Andrew St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: £69 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Strahan 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Strahan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Strahan Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing