We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average only”
Review of Motel Strahan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel Strahan
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here a few days ago. This is a family run motel. Folks are nice. Room is decent size. Wifi is free. Bad points are there is no bread toaster. 1 of the towels given was smelly. Cups were dirty (not cleaned properly before our check in). The cup being dirty really changed my opinion on their cleanliness level

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

The motel is about 15 minutes walk to the Strahan Esplanade in a quiet residential area, and 10 minutes drive to Ocean Beach.

Our room was big, clean and nicely furnished. There was a king bed, a table, a couple of chairs, a fridge, cups, plates and cutlery. The bathroom was big with a shower/bath tub. There was also a heat lamp at the ceiling. This was nice as it could get cold in the evening in Strahan.

The room was very quiet. We slept well. The staff is very friendly.

As a suggestion for improvement: the only inconvenience we encountered was the WIFI. To enable to WIFI, a set of Username/Password has to be generated by the reception, and it is time limited to 12 hours after the generation. So the set of Username/Password we got at 3:30pm during the check-in was valid till 3:30am next morning. We needed to ask for another set of Username/Password in the morning. Other than this, the WIFI connection works fine with good performance. It would be great if the Username/Password were valid for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoiman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for one night. The room was clean and looked fairly new. The king size bed was comfortable. There was a small court yard out the back. There is a laundry room available for guests. The staff were friendly.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CMM920829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Pulled into Strahan in the early evening. Was planning on staying at the caravan park. As it worked out, fortunately we were too late to get. Saw the "Vacancy" sign up at the motel, so headed in. What a great little place this was. Actually had free wi-fi that really worked. Couple of decent-sized beds, and one of the best pizzas you could ever get, just around the corner. The owner / manager was very helpful / friendly. The town itself was a bit of a bust. Had come specifically to ride the wilderness railway only to find out that it was "closed for maintenance". This would appear to be a fairly permanent arrangement with the chance of it re-opening in it's present form, very, very slim. The motel made up for it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehappyholidayer013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I booked this motel after reading reviews on here but I was very disappointed. Contemporary paint colours do not make the rooms in this motel modern & stylish as claimed on their website. It is tired, run down and over-priced. We found the hospitality very unwelcoming and the room servicing severely lacking. Do not expect the breakfast starter pack as advertised on their website for 2 night stays either - you will be lucky to get cereal and toast for breakfast. The shower is over the bath with a bi-fold glass shower screen, it is very awkward to use. The only good thing I can say about this place is that the bed was comfortable. Find somewhere else to stay in Strahan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I don't get to Strahan all that often, but when I do I stay here. Nice people with a nice country motel. And very, very clean which is great.

Strahan is a beautiful little hamlet and well worth a visit if you are plotting a tourist trail around the Apple Isle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed as part of a Car Club Tour of Tassy

A bit out of town, but a nice 20min walk around the water will get to the town centre , there is a takeaway and bottle O just down the road 2min walk, you will need to go to town for dinner as there is no restaurant. very nice rooms ( only 13 ) all at ground level.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSWSTEAMPOWER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
946 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Strahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Strahan

Address: 3 Andrew St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: £68 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Strahan 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Strahan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Strahan Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing