We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique setting, nice lounge rooms, basic accomodation”

Strahan Backpackers YHA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strahan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strahan Backpackers YHA
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“unique setting, nice lounge rooms, basic accomodation”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for a night in May when it was raining and not good weather for camping. We stayed in a share room and got it to ourselves as it was not busy in the least. The toilets and kitchen are detached from the rooms but it is covered so your able to stay dry. There was two kitchens, one pretty basic, both had tvs. The other larger kitchen and lounge area had a pool table, couches, and games. Room was a 6 bed, and if it was fully booked it would be quite crammed, however we didn't experience this as it was just the two of us. Guy (Dave) at reception was extremely friendly and welcoming. Overall decent accommodation for a backpackers: comfortable and clean but just a bit overpriced for a share room but as the only backpackers in the area I guess they can charge what they want.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassiedebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    13
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
17
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I hadn't a booking and arrived just before 8pm to find reception already closed. But Deb came back to me and I got to stay for the night. Buildings and furnishing might be a bit old and basic but it's clean. It's not a five star hotel but a good place to stay and meet fellow travelers to swap stories. I stayed only one night but I liked it. Coming from Queensland Tassie weather felt a bit cold but in the room there was doona, blanket and even a heater, so no need to freeze. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReachingForStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We paid $10/ night for 2 people in an unpowered site. This gave us full access to the camp kitchen and bathroom facilities. Although these were quite dated, they were clean. The location is also fantastic as we were in walking distance to the wharf.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monbug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights as part of a tour so I can't speak to the value of the place. But it is very basic like what you would expect on a school camping trip. On the upside there was hot water each time I showered which was appreciated and the toilets were clean. Bring your own towel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strahan hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the middle of winter, paying for a 'cabin' we were shocked to find a dirty and freezing cubby house to spend the night in.

On top of this the lady at the front desk was rude and demanding and the kitchen / common room was haphazard, dirty smelly. Can't believe we wasted good money on this place.

Save yourself the disappointment and stay ANYWHERE else in town.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverloch, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We camped here and found the place to have quite a homey feel with good common areas and equipped kitchen but amenities are quite old and run down. Other than that staff were friendly and prices were reasonable. Just don't expect a flash packers!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly080873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hospitality of management at this YHA was amazing! We were camping, but given the torrential rain the owner offered us the games room to dry out, rest and get ready for the overland track walk to begin the next day. If you're in the area and looking for a relaxed, friendly environment this is the place for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.5 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
899 reviews
0.7 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Backpackers YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Backpackers YHA

Property: Strahan Backpackers YHA
Address: 43 Harvey St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Strahan
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Strahan Backpackers YHA Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing