We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Town Delight”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crays Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Out of Town Delight”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were here for three nights and this was a fantastic base to do the unbelievable river cruise and visit some of the best wood carving I have ever seen. Location just off the riverfront helped as this provided a leisurely walk down. The Crays are part of a large collective of businesses encompassing retail and restaurants and sailing opportunities so a one-stop shop for all these facilities is appreciated. We alas could not sample a pre-booked restaurant as there were a few problems evidently and our booking was cancelled, this was a shame. I would also echo previous comments that free and good Wifi is almost an expectation rather than a luxury. This might be a problem due to location though, maybe the 21 Century has not yet got to Western Tasmania?
The apartment however was superbly clean and cleaned during our stay, there was ample space to sit inside and in the garden and this was a good location to stop and relax and a good base to visit the area. An ideal spot to stay for this side of the island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoshSod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    41
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
87
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My friend and I had originally booked one of their duplexes in town but when we saw the location of 'The Cray's' around the boardwalk I asked if we could stay there and they were very happy to accommodate us. The boardwalk from 'The Cray's around the river into town is just lovely. The views are beautiful and it's such an easy stroll. It's only a 10 min walk into town but there is also a lovely restaurant directly opposite 'The Cray's. The unit was very very clean and had absolutely everything you could think of, including a paper bag for your old brochures. They are very environmental conscious. The unit is very roomy and has a nice little balcony outside your front door with a table and chairs. They have also included some insect repellant and a small carton of milk in the fridge. The management are very friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend "The Cray's" and they are very good value for money. Plenty of room in the bathroom aswell. You don't have your own washing machine but there is a shared laundry room on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshanhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed two nights and found this place more than adequate and well situated for the restaurants and the river cruises. There is plenty of space and Megs and her team cannot do enough. Parking is easy and it is peaceful. Only complaint is the poor Wi-Fi access to book our next stops but his is not city centre stuff and it was a small inconvenience. We would certainly use this place again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applegate138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed two nights and were very comfortable. Positive features include the location - an easy stroll into town and the wharf - the clean, comfortable accommodation, which included covered parking, a well equipped kitchenette, free guest laundry and barbecue and helpful, welcoming hosts who were happy to help us with booking a Gordon River Cruise and buying a nice crayfish for dinner (not cheap, but delicious). Negatives - there is no air conditioning (which didn't matter as it wasn't hot when we stayed, but could be uncomfortable in hot weather), dark decor (which made the room a bit gloomy when they were pulled to keep the room cool) and nasty fluorescent lighting in the dining area. On balance, we would be happy to recommend the Crays.
One tip - reception is located in a shop on the wharf, not at the actual units. It can be a bit tricky to spot, being mixed in with yacht charter and crayfish sales signs!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ittyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed one night here - the unit was roomy and comfortable, and importantly clean.
If staying longer you could self cater (although there is only a two plate stovette not a full stove)
It is close to town so you can walk in for food, tours etc. We were not aware of traffic noise even though the unit is close to the road (separated by trees).
Staff were friendly and pleasant - they are located in town at the wharf area but you normally need to be there by 5:30, or make other arrangements in advance.
It is relatively expensive - we've stayed in apartments in Many cities for much less. But I guess that reflects the demand in Strahan during the holiday season.

Recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in Strahan for two nights and chose this accommodation on line. Well situated off the esplanade and a short walk into Strahan, you stay in a self contained unit with facilities provided for self catering. Looks a little old fashioned, but was perfectly adequate and would make a good base for anyone, particularly families, touring the area.
Nice and quiet, laundry room with washing machine provided free , shared BBQ area and private deck and car port.
I would say ABOVE AVERAGE, but not quite VERY GOOD. We arrived late, so the owners were very relaxed about letting us check in next day- all very friendly.

Room Tip: Units overlooking the road look out to the bay beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziehbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We (a couple with a 3-year old) stayed at Kelly, a two-Bedroom unit located at 11 Innes Street, away from all other Crays accommodation properties which are located at 57 – 59 The Esplanade. The unit is like a granny's flat - owner of the property lives at the same address (their house is at the back of the unit). Both one-bedroom (King) and two-bedroom (Kelly) units were available but we booked the two-bd due to other reviews that it has a water view, and the fact that my little boy and I didn't plan to do Gordon river cruise and so the two-bd would give my little one more room to play in. Kelly has two bedrooms, one has a Queen bed and the other has two singles. The unit was clean in general. Pillows smell sweaty but I could see that the pillowcase had been washed so I just covered the pillow with extra clean towels that I brought with us. The electric blanket was good. We used it to warm up the bed before we went to bed. There is an electric heater on the lounge room wall. It is effective but a little noisy. We turned it off at night. We also bought a crayfish at $80 from the owner of the property (Megs), which was already in our fridge by the time we arrived so it was quite nice.
Hot water was not enough for all three of us. We didn't shower on the first night we stayed there because we already showered in the morning and spent most of the day only driving to Strahan that day. On the 2nd night after the Gordon River cruise, my husband and 3-yr old took shower first and hot water ran out on them. My little boy was freezing. I wrapped him up in layers of towels to warm him up. There was no hot water left from the kitchen tap, either. We thought the hot water heater might be broken but after 1-2 hours there was hot water again so we knew it was just a small hot water tank. Overall it was not a huge issue however it would be nice if we could be warned about the hot water issue beforehand.

A few days after we checked out I found the owner (Megs) charged my credit card for an extra $100. I rang her to query the charge. She said she saw us shopping with someone at the local IGA (a relative of ours) and therefore suspected that the person also stayed at the 2-bedroom unit we rented. Megs charged us $100 for that person. I explained that the person with us was actually travelling with her husband and they stayed somewhere else. Megs then said she still needed to charge extra because the two single beds in the second bedroom were disturbed (my little one was guilty of that 'crime' as he used the beds as hiding places when he played hide-and-seek with my hubby). We didn't think the additional charge was justified because we rented and paid for a two-bedroom unit and it was never made clear to us that we could only use one of the bedrooms. We would have rented a one-bd or stayed somewhere else if we knew this 'rule'. Plus, the owner could have locked the door of the second bedroom if she didn't want the single beds to be 'disturbed'. What's more, the owner could have clarified with us while we were still in Strahan if the person she saw us shopping with was also staying at Kelly. We would have explained on the spot that she was staying with someone else. The owner’s house is on the same block of land as the unit we rented, she could have knocked on our door to check if there was any unauthorised ‘guest’ at our unit. We cleaned the unit as best as we could and checked out at around 8.30am on 22nd Dec 2013. I then text messaged Megs about our departure at around 9.20am. She didn’t respond to say that she was going to post additional charge on my credit card then, either. Strahan is now a world away from where we live – there is nothing we could do to get the money back. This is just one small unpleasant stain on our memorable Tasmania trip. The stain will fade over time. However, it has changed our mind setting about accommodation choices forever. In the future, we will only stay at big chained hotels which are tightly regulated in terms of credit card charges, if possible.

We timed our trip to Strahan at around the same time my husband's relatives were there. We caught up with them on the Gordon River Cruise and they met my little boy for the first time. It was really nice that we could catch up. We then went on our separate ways from Strahan and our relatives were not easily contactable while they were travelling. They were using their overseas mobile phones and only turned it on occasionally. My husband mentioned it to them that we have been charged extra for accommodation in Strahan due to having been seen with them there. We also mentioned that the owner of Crays Accommodation wanted to know their details and where they stayed at Strahan, and if confirmed to be true, she would consider refunding us $50. While our relatives felt sorry for causing us 'trouble' they were reluctant to give their details to Crays Accommodation due to fear that their personal information could be misused (‘what if she charged our credit cards’ was their response - fair enough given our experience).

Room Tip: Some previous reviews mentioned about the water view in Kelly which was the main reason we rented it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crays Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crays Accommodation

Property: The Crays Accommodation
Address: 59 The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crays Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Eight fully self-contained, holiday units. Studios, and 2 and 3 bedrooms.* Two central locations in Strahan * Harbour or wilderness views from each unit and from the covered decks:* Outdoor furniture. * All ground level. Free WIFI at the Esplanade units * RAINWATER TANK at The Esplanade for your delight! * Our lawns are lush, and the clean air is invigorating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Crays Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crays Accommodation Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing