We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castaway Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had two nights here in early October, and in line with other reviewers, were very happy. Spacious, well equipped and clean at an affordable rate. When stormy weather prevented us taking the cruise, board games and videos were provided. Pleasant owners added to the experience and if we return would definitely book Castaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so disappointed you could not go out on the cruise, the cruise is a memorable day out so hopefully we will see you in the future.
Thank you for your glowing review and we look forward to meeting with you once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    53
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
94
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just spent 4 nights here and could not have been happier. Bev and Jim were great hosts and clearly understand what tired travelers need. $5 for internet access for the entire stay. Kids were happy. Everything clean and tidy. Wife happy. This equals happy husband. Simple things like a working torch in case of power outage, clothes horse and gold coin donation washing and drying. Soap powder and softener there to use. It is these simple things that make a good place great. Will definitely stay there again and most certainly recommend to family and friends. Two weeks before we arrived, Bev sent me an update on the railway as she knew we wanted to go on it. Thank you.
Keep up the good work. Don, Julie Lachlan and James.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. What a great recommendation from you, we look forward to meeting with you again in the near future. Good news is the train will be up and running once again in January 2014, hope to see you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spotless spacious two bedroom apartment with full kitchen with near new appliances. One minute walk to the IGA and five minute walk to the esplanade, where the restaurants and attractions are. Laundry facilities including laundry powder and an honestly system of a gold coin donation for the upkeep of these facilities. The owners were very hospitable and were happy to offer advice on things to do and see and driving directions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ_and_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We were pleased to be able to advise you on all the local activities and great eating places in Strahan; the majority of them within an easy walking distance. Hopefully we will meet with you, once again, very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Castaway Apartments were all that we expected from others reviews and more. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We were particularly impressed with the guest laundry facilities as we struck some very damp weather during out stay in Strahan.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, even with the damp weather doesn't appear to have spoilt your stay in Strahan. It is a magical place, each day is different, but that is the beauty of the West Coast of Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Arrived in Strahan on the 7th of August just for the night, ended up returning a week later for two days. Great place to stay, clean and well maintained, Bev and Jim should be very proud of Castaway's presentation and quality. We will be returning.

Thanks

Paul and Sharon WA

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. What a great recommendation of Castaway from you; you stay with us for one night, travel to the other side of the island and then return for two nights a week later. We couldn't ask for higher praise and we appreciate your comments, it shows our hard work is reaping dividends. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The Castaway apartments are very spacious and maintained to the very highest standard. We originally only booked for one night but when Bev told us the cruise boat was running the next day, we extended our stay for an extra night. We were very glad we did.

The proximity to the local shopping centre was fantastic. Strahan town was just down the hill as well.

I can recommend this as a great place to stay in Strahan.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemaryg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We were only too pleased to offer you the cruise, a great day on the Macquarie Harbour and Gordon River. We are surprised at the amount of travellers who are unaware that we have such an awesome wilderness region on our doorstep, and the cruise is the only way to see it at ground level. We are so pleased you enjoyed the extra day in Strahan, and please keep spreading the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for one rainy night in April, but as we had arrived after dark, we would have liked another night to see more of the town of Strahan. The family apartment is modern and clean and well set up for self catering, with nice and good heating. The owners were very accommodating in allowing us to do washing and leave it hanging while we went on the river cruise for the day. We were then able to collect it (despite having checked out in the morning) in the afternoon and be on our way. Highly recommended for family stays. Also we can highly recommend the World Heritage Cruises trip up the Gordon River. Such magnificent landscapes and history.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We were only too pleased to offer you the laundry facilities during your stay, people are always on the go in Tasmania, it helps to be able to catch up on all the boring chores and still haave a memorable day out on a World Heritage Cruise. Hopefully next time you will spend a couple of nights with us and soak up the Strahan atmosphere and history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crays Accommodation
The Crays Accommodation
#2 of 20 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strahan Bungalows
Strahan Bungalows
#3 of 20 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Holiday Apartments

Property: Castaway Holiday Apartments
Address: 12 Harvey Street, Strahan, Tasmania TAS 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castaway Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway offers affordable, modern, self contained apartments with two bedrooms and spacious living area just 5 minutes stroll from the town centre, harbour and restaurants. Our apartments are suitable for couples, families or groups, and offer full kitchen facilities for all your self catering needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Castaway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Holiday Apartments Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing