We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Strahan Seaplanes and Helicopters
Attraction details
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic way to see the Tasmania wilderness!
Such an adventure to take off from the water and very exciting to drop down between the trees to land on the Gordon River.
We stopped at a tiny jetty that lead to a lovely waterfall.
Our pilot Jeff was great and was able to point out landmarks and was full of interesting facts. Loved it :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    3
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geeveston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Top of the World”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Had a great time flying across beautiful Tassie and seeing all the wonderful rivers, lakes and forests. Landing on Gordon River and seeing the waterfall. Exciting indeed and also brilliant to fly low over the Gordon/Frankland rivers. Photo attached.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Trip of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The Seaplane from Strahan was magnificent, the highlight of our visit to Strahan. Flying over Macquarie Harbour, Hell's Gates and then up the Franklin and Gordon Rivers and actually landing on the river at St John Falls was just an incredible experience. I highly recommend it. It was one of the highlights of my life to see St John Falls and to see the wilderness and protest sites that saved this area from damming 30 years ago. I thank those protectors and conservationists who stood up and saved this magnificent wilderness. I thank Strahan Seaplanes and Jeff our Pilot for a wonderful experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exciting flight over the rainforest”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was a new experience for me as I hadn't been in a seaplane before. We took off from Strahan & flew across Macquarie Harbour with fantastic views of the harbour, the islands & beautiful Ocean Beach. Then followed amazing views of the winding Gordon River & the endless- seeming impenetrable forest, saved from being dammed in the 1980s, a triumph of people-power!
When we were well inland we finally flew lower right between the trees to land on the river in a wonderful peaceful spot near a short path to a beautiful waterfall. Taking off was equally exciting, we rode on the water for a short space before lifting into the air. An unforgettable experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We didn't have time for the boat - but this was the best way to see the wilderness - landing on the Gordon River - AMAZING. Beautiful waterfall deep in the wilderness - a great experience.
My suggestion - miss the boat - do this. Ben was a great pilot - young gun and alot of fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sonja b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strahan Seaplanes and Helicopters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing