We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strahan Holiday Retreat
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

This caravan park is in an ideal spot. It's a lovely easy walk along the path into strahan village. Toilets and showers are average and could do with updating. But staff are friendly and helpful. The cafe is great for meals and drinks and for the morning newspaper.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel199pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Strahan Holiday Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Chosen because it had far more positive reviews than bad ones, and this is another pos one. The cabin was spotlessly clean and well equipped, though we stayed only one night so the shower and the kettle were all we used really - oh, and the electric blanket on the QS bed which made the very comfy bed easy to get into on a very chilly night! Big flat TV, good for the size of room, not many channels but what there was had clear picture. The bathroom was actually quite spacious (maybe some other cabins have a smaller area?), and it's a good strong shower. Local shop/long-hours café/booze shop just across the road, so very convenient - but the reception is there too rather than on-site, which is a bit strange, but we found it okay. Only downside we could pick is that the cabins are really close together and there's nowhere private to sit outside, but at least they all face the same way so your kitchen looks out on next door's car, but your own entry is next to your own car. Obviously that cannot change. Bit claustrophobic during the daylight but once closed up for the night you don't notice - and it's also quiet and peaceful after dark. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank THBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We arrived late , fortunately the office was open until 7pm. The cabin was well appointed - 2 bedrooms for 2 people. It will accommodate 6 - one bedroom has a double bed and 2 bunk beds. Would be ok for 4 - 6 would be tight. Shower is small fibreglass cubicle - understandable when one realises it would have been transported over a v winding road. Heating, clothes airer, equipped kitchen, flat screen tv, small fridge with freezer, laundry is shared. Supermarket around the corner, short walk to a small beach. No wifi - something to do with the manager's house burning down. Bottle shop and take awat food across the road. A bit pricey for a cabin in a caravan park but there doesn't appear to be much competition.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed for one night in an Executive Cabin (number 16) with my mum. Check in was an easy process. I don't know what the standard cabins are like, so I can't compare, but to me the cabin we were in was just basic. It did have a very well equipped kitchen which was appreciated to cook a meal in, and the water in the shower was lovely and hot and had good pressure. Unfortunately I didn't find the lounge or beds comfortable (tried both bottom and top bunk) but Mum was comfortable in her double bed in the other room. I probably would stay elsewhere next time I go to Strahan, but I can see how it would be a good place and affordable for families. It was a very hot day in Strahan when we were there and the cabin was very hot inside, but unfortunately the cabin had no screen door so we couldn't let the cooler evening air in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We traveled to Strahan after hiking on Cradle mountain. We arrived late and the biggest hurdle was that the reception closed at 6 and there is no phone service. Unless you have cash for a payphone you then have to find an ATM to get cash out and then somewhere to change it to use said payphone.

Once we got hold of someone we secured a site. It was nice and grassy close to the bathrooms which were also fine. We checked out early and kept moving. was a lot nicer than the other place in town looked.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is a small holiday park, not flashy, but it's pleasant, with well tended and nicely laid-out gardens and well appointed, clean units. However, as is often the case, it is the service that makes the difference. Our thanks to Max and Annie for their welcome, their assistance both with organising our activities, and for returning an item left behind. This was our first trip to Tasmania, but not our last and we will happily stay at Anchor Downs again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at Anchor Down Holiday Units for 4 nights. The units are very close to everything. The hosts were very friendly and nothing was a problem. The unit was very cean, and had everything that we required. The beds were fantastic. They were very comfortable and we had 6 pillows for each bed. We slept well every night. The shower was amazing with heaps of pressure and plenty of hot water for 4 people. We definitely recommend Anchor Down Holiday Units.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ricky_and_Lynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strahan Beach Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.8 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Strahan Villas
Driftwood Strahan Villas
#9 of 21 in Strahan
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Holiday Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Holiday Retreat

Address: 8-10 Innes St West, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Strahan
Price Range: £63 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strahan Holiday Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strahan Holiday Retreat is situated on 11 acres of tall trees and Platypus streams. Perfect for families or large groups. There is an eclectic mix of cottages and cabins that range from Studios to four bedrooms homes. Most accommodation is larger than average with room to move and fully equipped with everything you need for an overnight stay or longer. Serviced and un-serviced sites offer camp kitchens and family bathrooms. There is a Cafe and shop on-site and a tour desk and activity hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Holiday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Holiday Retreat Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing