We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cancelled with no warning!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Rivers Jet - CLOSED

Wild Rivers Jet
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Option 150 Minute King River Jet Boat.View the rain-forested gorges of the King River.View the restored Abt railway formation.View stands of Huon Pine trees.Travel in safety and comfort aboard our exciting Hi-performance jet boatOption 2All the above plus a visit to the Teepookana Plateau.Short drive to where we spend half an hour strolling through Huon Pine forest.Superb views from a lofty viewing tower.
Mosman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cancelled with no warning!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We drove to Strahan especially to do the jet boat and 4WD trip to see huon pine and the salvage operations. Arrived more than half an hour wary as requested. Man in office seemed genuinely surprised when I said we had a booking for he boat trip (which was made more than a month beforehand). Checked his bookings before announcing it wasn't going to run due to windy weather. We suspected it was because there were only 2 of us booked into the trip - he told us he had 8 booked the next day and could we come back then instead? We couldn't as we had other plans already, but made us suspect that it just wasn't worth his while to take the two of us.
Had no warning of weather constraints on boat trip - we would have checked the weather/wind forecast ourselves if we thought it would have been an issue.
Disappointed!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank KatHnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildrj, Owner at Wild Rivers Jet, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Yes, we are weather dependant. We (and others such as the Seaplane operators) must continually assess weather conditions to ensure the safety of all aboard. The conditions on the day were not suitable, and had we gone out onto the rough unprotected area of the Harbour, there was a very real chance you could have been hurt. Even the large cruise boats can encounter very uncomfortable conditions on the Harbour.
I did explain the latest internet weather observations to you hoping you would better understand my decision.
On the day, we had already cancelled another group of ten, so your suspicions we did not want to carry just the two of you were incorrect.
Unfortunately your phone service provider has no coverage here, so we were unable to contact you in advance to advise we had cancelled. We always endeavour to advise of possible cancellations to reduce inconvenience to clients.
I had your accommodation address, and had the weather significantly improved, I would have been in touch as agreed.
I was surprised when you arrived, because the name you gave me was not the name I had booked your trip in. Maybe I mis-heard, or maybe the booking was made (as sometimes happens) in the surname of the other partner. That was soon cleared up.
We were disappointed you were unable to experience our great trip, but in this world of risk management and litigation, your safety is our first priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An exciting thing to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We travelled to Strahan with no bookings (pretty dumb in the middle of tourist season) and were a bit perplexed about what to do, so rang up Wild River Jet. The proprietor was without staff, due to the heat and other disasters at the beginning of the second week in January, but squeezed us in at no notice and we are so glad he did. It's a brilliant way to experience Macquarie Harbour, you get to see the King River close up, and the kids love the spins on the water (as do the parents!). We saw a wombat striding along the shore, and it was wonderful to get a sense of what Teepookana was like, and how many people once lived along the shores and rivers running into the harbour.

We found the price, $200 for a family of five, to be extremely reasonable, as boats are expensive to fuel and run, and it's never easy to run a tourism operation in Tasmania, as numbers fluctuate, and so do staff! Andrew is an excellent guide and we were very pleased, especially when you consider the cost of a Gordon River Cruise, or a flight.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Very dissappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Totally unorganized and unprofessional. Arranged day before to do 4pm trip, advised to check beforehand due to rain forecast. Rain cleared in afternoon and we arrived in town to see the 3pm trip leave and a note on kiosk door saying "back at 4pm, jetboat doing trip" so waited until 4 for owner to return and tell us he was not going out again.
No sorry or apology

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GRC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildrj, Owner at Wild Rivers Jet, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
A couple of things I’d point out to you. Our brochure clearly states “Bookings Strongly Advisable”
You did not make arrangements for a 4pm trip- you made an enquiry.
You left neither a name or contact number.
You would have arrived in Strahan around 2.20pm on the train, so had you called, or left us a contact number, we could have made arrangements for you to travel on the 3pm trip, which was the only one we ran on the day.
And I did express my apology that you missed out, and offered you a trip at 9am the next morning which you declined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ride and local knowledge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Did the 2 hour tour, well worth the extra $30! Not only did we get to experience the thrill of the fast paced boat and its 360 spins but got to see some of the amazing teepookana forest. Very experienced and knowledgable guide. Thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank JayneBap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We did the longer tour and we found it very interesting, the views from above the tree canopy were great. The boat ride was fun and well worth the money spent, a great alternative than the abt to see the King River. I would recommend this trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nbap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Rivers Jet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing