We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Strahan
Price range: US$12 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Rebuilt in 1936, Hamer's captures the old-world charm of this mining port turned fishing village, where the walls almost speak to you of bygone eras. Settle back by the open log fire with the locals for a local ale or select from a range of Tasmanian wines. The bistro offers steaks, seafood, chicken, pasta and daily seasonal specials. A comprehensive wine list is also available. Hamer's Hotel is open for lunch and dinner everyday of the year except Christmas Day.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The steaks - we had eye fillet and porterhouse. Both were superbly cooked and the accompanying peppercorn sauce was light, peppery and easy to eat. Steamed veggies were done to perfection. For $25 a meal we were very happy. Wine at $8.50 a glass was also good value as they were decent sized glasses. Only down side is that they have had a fire in the fireplace so it was on the cool side and lacked a bit of the expected ambience, Would definitely eat here again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    296
    159
    62
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The serving sizes are large, couldn't eat it all in the end but the food was delicious! Not really any choices in Strahan in winter but you won't be disappointed here. The staff were really friendly, was a great way to end the day :p

Helpful?
Thank Dwayneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were seated very quickly & given our menus. Drinks arrived quickly & our orders were taken swiftly as well. I believe our meals arrived within 15-20 minutes, i didn't time it exactly but we certainly weren't left wondering or waiting. As we are RACT members, we received drink vouchers which we happily redeemed for a couple of glasses of wine.
The staff were great. Very friendly & helpful for anything we needed, & were great towards the kids too, as were the other patrons.
The meals were great. Very generous size. We both had the eye fillet steak, one with chips & gravy, the other with the smashed potato, which seemed to have sweet chilli sauce or something through it. I normally wouldn't like that, but it wasn't overbearing & I was pleasantly surprised by it. The kids meals come with a free ice cream sundae.
Overall, we were very happy with the meals. The prices were reasonable & the meal size was generous.
If I had to be picky, the only thing i would say is that we had to chase the waitress' for more drinks as there was no follow up, however i understand they are busy, and when we asked for them the drinks were there in a flash. We had a great experience here. Don't forget to use your Entertainment Book card here too for one free main meal when another is purchased!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty meal on a cool winter night”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visiting Strahan in winter limits your dining options a bit, but we were very happy with the food and service at Hamers. We both ordered steaks, and mine was cooked absolutely perfectly and melted in my mouth. My brother found his a little undercooked and tough, but still ate every bit of it. The smashed chat and peppercorn sauce was also delicious. Service was good and friendly, and the price was perfectly reasonable, as the food was good and portion sizes were big! We had garlic bread to start with, and a 2 person serve was huge! Definitely recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner was superb”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wanted to have dinner at the Tavern but had no transport there so ate at Hamers, extremely good service, food and view over the harbour. Turned out a lovely evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JudithRose58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Strahan, Tasmania
 

Been to Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing