We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, well presented”
Review of Franklin Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Franklin Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, well presented”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Bed and breakfasts aren't really our thing, but we thought we'd give it a go as there wasn't too many other choices that seemed suitable. Pleasant people and well presented in a good heritage location. Agree with others that the the price of the room was a bit high given what it was. Having said that, Strahan was a very pretty place and we did have a lot of fun exploring it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RightSaidFred502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    68
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
185
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Erina, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Franklin Manor is a very well presented heritage B&B in a great location. We wished that we had stayed two nights instead of one as it was so lovely to stay in. Free wi-fi was a bonus and very much appreciated, we were able to use this in the lobby mainly. Strahan is a very pretty place and we enjoyed the walk to Strahan (10 mins) along the foreshore to have dinner. I thought the continental breakfast in the dining room was very nice and we appreciated the (very) fresh fruit salad very much. The dining room is beautiful with lovely windows looking on to the garden. John and Jane were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed hearing about the history of Franklin Manor. Our hosts phoned the cruise the next morning to inform us that we had left our flask in the room upon checking out, so we were able to retrieve that after the cruise ended. Otherwise we would not have noticed until we went to use it the next day! Thank you Jane and John!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

On first walking in to the Manor, we were made feel so welcome. Our smiling hosts, John and Jane could not have done more to make us feel wanted. The Heritage aspect was a bonus. We were invited to look over the whole place and told to use the downstairs lounges as we wished. An honour system for the bar was a good idea but wasn't made much use of while we were there. Our bed was so comfortable it was difficult to get up on time for the Cruise.The continental breakfast was exactly that. The whole experience reminded me exactly of some of the beautiful B & Bs we stayed while in the British Isles. The parking could have been a problem if there were more guests but I believe there was a lower parking area. This however would have not been suitable for those with much luggage. Free WiFi topped off a great experience. Many thanks, John and Jane, for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Don't know if there was any difference!!! No-one commented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinC645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilambil Heights NSW
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Heritage accommodation that is well presented, quality of the decore excellent, but disappointed at the bed comfort. Receptionist excellent and welcoming. Continential breakfast good.
Thought the cost of the rooms over priced for value.

Room Tip: Chose this room as a matter of necessity. Beautiful building and very accommodating staff. Over expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Franklin Manor is a lovely house with nice sitting areas. Wifi is free which is a great service offered to guests! (Unlike many Tassie hotels).
Bfast is a simple continental buffet - could be better.
Rooms are spacious and very old world, as you would expect but nothing particularly special.
Parking is an issue as less than 10 spots at the top nearest to the site.

Our advice: reserve room 10-14 as wifi will reach these rooms.
Consider a hotel closer to the centre or along the bay for possibly better value and view.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrew_amber_burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in early January. The room was spacious and comfortable. However, what made this B&B stand out amongst the ten hotels we stayed in on our trip to Australia was the exceptional management team who were friendly and helpful and made you feel as though you were at home.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

So much enjoyed our 2 night stay at Franklin Manor due to the delightful hosts Jane and John. Both ensured we were comfortable, gave us information on Dinner venues, whether fine dining or pub food and helped us with walks around Strahan and the excellent World Heritage cruise. Our ground floor suite had a King bed and a lovely window seat to enjoy.
Drinks on the verandah in the afternoon sun were a highlight. Franklin Manor is a beautiful old building in a grand style in a scenic pristine wilderness area. Thanks again Jane and John on your wonderful hospitality.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.3 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Manor

Property: Franklin Manor
Address: 75 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklin Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmth and hospitality blends with contemporary elegance at Franklin Manor.This beautifully restored historic property, in the village of Strahan, sits at the edge of south-west Tasmania’s World Heritage Wilderness Area.At Franklin Manor, take a well-earned break in a standard queen room, or manor suite. Enjoy your breakfast in our dining room or on the porch overlooking the lush gardens.Immerse yourself in our island’s incomparable wilderness. Our staff can help you to choose an unforgettable Tasmanian experience, from a tranquil Gordon River cruise or scenic wilderness flight, to guided kayaking, bushwalking or four-wheel drive tours and the inspiring West Coast Wilderness Railway. You’ll return to the Manor comforts feeling invigorated and refreshed.After a day’s exploration, relax with a drink by the open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Franklin Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Manor Hotel Strahan
Franklin Manor Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing