We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for a night in strahan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Franklin Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franklin Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot for a night in strahan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just a 10 min walk to the local pub and the dock for the Gordon river cruises. Franklin manor is a lovely homestead which hand been restored to a good standard. Rooms are large with period features, surrounded by lovely gardens. The hosts were great, very welcoming and happy to help, we we were hit with massive storm the night we stayed which knocked out the power for few hours. Our hosts were up extra early to try and find a solution for breakfast for the early risers who were up for breakie, although luckily the power was back on in time.

Room Tip: We had room 6, lovely big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess3uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    67
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
181
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Character building with beautiful gardens and next to the Hogarth Falls which are well worth the visit. Friendly and helpful staff. Continental breakfast was adequate and the rooms very clean and comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keithl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lovely old manor house with great rooms. The people running it are wonderful and are well suited to doing the running of this grand home. There a a couple of lounge areas with open fires,a wine space and dining room. You are encouraged to make yourself feel at home. Our room was large( although mattress not great) with a king sized bed, tv, ensuite. Lovely space. Easy stroll to Main Street . Would stay here again

Room Tip: We chose the rooms downstairs with king beds. Easy access .rooms have window seat and are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy61Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very ordinary breakfast if you expect any more than bread, cereal, yoghurt and fruits. Coffee from a machine is ver ordinary. Also, seems a bit too big for a b&b! House, grounds, managers are very nice though!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joern_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

First of all, you have to think of the town of Strahan. A very unique town in a unique part of Tasmania, and Franklin Manor fits in with that uniqueness! The Manor is a beautiful historic mansion located in a pretty neighborhood. The hosts, John and Jane, were terrific hosts - kind and accommodating. Our room was comfortable and clean with a nice view of the gardens. The continental breakfast was good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldur13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
328 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Franklin Manor is located a 10 minute walk from the centre of Strahan which means that it is away from the considerable bustle (and parking problems) of the centre. The walk itself is delightful. As the house has a long history it does mean that the rooms are quite small and, of course, there is no lift which can cause problems if, like us, you have a lot of luggage and on a long trip. Having said that, the room itself was charming with a comfortable bed and view over the garden which are lovely. John and Jane couldn't have been more helpful and recommended a number of restaurants to us, plus advising on the best places to stop en route to Hobart. Apparently, it used to house a Michelin starred restaurant - none now but the (fairly minimal) breakfast is included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Bed and breakfasts aren't really our thing, but we thought we'd give it a go as there wasn't too many other choices that seemed suitable. Pleasant people and well presented in a good heritage location. Agree with others that the the price of the room was a bit high given what it was. Having said that, Strahan was a very pretty place and we did have a lot of fun exploring it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RightSaidFred502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.3 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
0.6 mi away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Manor

Property: Franklin Manor
Address: 75 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklin Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmth and hospitality blends with contemporary elegance at Franklin Manor.This beautifully restored historic property, in the village of Strahan, sits at the edge of south-west Tasmania’s World Heritage Wilderness Area.At Franklin Manor, take a well-earned break in a standard queen room, or manor suite. Enjoy your breakfast in our dining room or on the porch overlooking the lush gardens.Immerse yourself in our island’s incomparable wilderness. Our staff can help you to choose an unforgettable Tasmanian experience, from a tranquil Gordon River cruise or scenic wilderness flight, to guided kayaking, bushwalking or four-wheel drive tours and the inspiring West Coast Wilderness Railway. You’ll return to the Manor comforts feeling invigorated and refreshed.After a day’s exploration, relax with a drink by the open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franklin Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Manor Hotel Strahan
Franklin Manor Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing