We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 1 June 2013

An absolutely fantastic place, we would really recommend if travelling to Tasmania to visit Strahan One of the best places to see. And the accommodation in at strahan village was just perfect. If you can book a cottage it is well worth it.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good , but if you can book a cottage as they are situated around the bay and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisacaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have stayed here a couple of time and love the location at the front of the harbour. We stayed in the little cottages you can see on their page, not the ones up the back (you need to be part Mountain Goat to stay up there.....lol) They were clean, comfortable and in a convenient location. Walking distance to restaurants, pubs & attractions

Room Tip: The cottages at the front are the most convienent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Ok rooms, but a boring, ordinary breakfast. Our room had great views of mountains, water and the village itself. The trip on the Gordon River was ok but had a much better time on a smaller boat-much more personal. Meal on boat trip was very ordinary.
We stayed out of season and there was absolutely nothing open.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Book the Hilltop View Room and get a sweeping view of the harbour from your balcony. Breakfast is usually included and very good for such a remote location.
The drive to here is about five hours from Hobart and very little, read nil places, are there to eat or buy coffee. Take an old fashioned Thermos and cakes or if you must call at Derwent Bridge Hotel.

Room Tip: Hillside Harbour View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveskiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Strahan is a pretty place and the gateway to some fabulous wilderness experiences. However, this motel is fairly disappointing. The motel rooms at the top of the hill have thin walls and average appointments, but good views. The cottages in the main street have a nicer feel, though again the appointments are only fair. None of the rooms we had included baths or spas. Breakfasts are OK. Staff mouth the correct things. Our biggest disappointment was that we took a package which included a cruise on the Lady Jane Franklin & West Coast Wilderness Railway, both of which returned at night. Don't!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsy178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Another couple and ourselves paid $1400 each for what we hoped to be a special weekend away. Included were trips where a dinner tour on the Gordon river and Port Macquarie and another dinner tour on the Abt railway. These were organised well and the staff helpful and attentive. Our rooms face the car park and were left over from the 70's at best. The huge let down was the accommodation and included breakfast which few guests received due to lack of food, cutlery, cups dishes or a place to sit. We ended up down the street with a $6 special from the local bakery. It is obvious there is little local input but rather a obvious management structure directing this debarkle. There is no way we will be paying $2800 in the future on the West Coast and would not recommend to any of our friends to never set foot in that place. You are a true embarrassment to the Tasmanian Hospitality Industry.

Stayed: April 2013
5  Thank Usa4july2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Hotel accommodation on top of hill above ground level reception is well designed and equipped, comfortable and with fine view from balcony over Strahan and Macquarie Harbour. Popular resort for packaged tours which puts some stress on the smorgasbord dining when 2 or 3 tours descend on it at the same time. Ideally situated for harbour and Gordon River cruise; also the West Coast Wilderness Railway with its beautiffully restored engines and carriages - although this may be closing due to high maintenance costs.

Room Tip: Choice of rooms at ground and first floor level overlooking harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
240 reviews
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: £62 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing