We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
1 review
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in upper complex with views over harbour from our balcony. We were there for conference 23/5 - 25/5. Staff did great job, beautiful food. Would go back and take the kids (if they'd come now they're teenagers).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrahanVillage, Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Strahan Village. I’ll definitely pass your compliments on to the staff & the chef.

We’d be delighted to welcome you back if you’re ever in the area; we think the spectacular scenery could tempt even the most reluctant of teenagers!

Kind regards,
Robert O'Brien
Hotel Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    343
    225
    77
    54
See reviews for
140
534
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely hotel, beautiful settings and the one & only Gordon River Cruise. We had a great time in Strahan and highly recommend Tasmania's west coast! It would be good to have had free wi-fi, but anyway, we were on holidays and could definitely go without internet for a few days :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandaBonifacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrahanVillage, Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We think the West Coast is a truly wonderful place as well!

Kind regards,
Robert O'Brien
Hotel Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked a waterfront cottage,upon opening the door the musty smell hits you! It is so bad you find it hard to even sleep! On the upside the beds were clean and comfortable with working electric blankets. Poorly sound proofed the neighbouring cottages were filled with inconsiderate noisy families who had children running up and down the cottage until late at night. Lovely views and excellent location. Staff obviously not concerned with whether we enjoyed stay or not as they do not even ask on check out, (I don't think they actually want to hear the same complaints over and over as they obviously know the issues this place has). Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuppachup0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrahanVillage, Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience on this occasion.

As this property has recently changed hands, we are currently in the process of finalising a review of customer feedback, in order to accurately assess the various improvements and upgrades necessary. It's a real opportunity for us to make sure we do better, next time - so thanks for giving us that opportunity to improve our business.

One particular point of your review that concerns me is your comment relating to the customer service level on check-out. We take all our visitors' responses seriously and I want to assure you that we will be taking action on your comments and looking to improve the service delivery on check-out as an immediate priority.

Kind regards,
Robert O'Brien
Hotel Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strahan hotels

San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This complex has cottages down on the main street, but three buildings on the hilltop overlooking the bay are the main site. They are of varying ages, the main lodge being the newest at the edge of the hill and with the water views. I was in the oldest part, which seemed dedicated to group tours, a cinder block building with parking and the main lodge in front. The room would I think sleep 5 and seems intended in the high season for families. There is a small kitchen unit where you could heat items, and a refrigerator. It was all quite tidy and clean, and had enough heat for the cooler mid spring nights. Breakfast is in the main lodge. At that time the lodge restaurant in the evenings was a magnificent seafood buffet at a magnificent price. Walkways and staircases lead you down to the village and tourist amenities--Strahan also owns a number of businesses and at least one restaurant there.

Room Tip: Perhaps the added expense of the lodge is worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoBodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrahanVillage, Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us here at Strahan Village. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the seafood buffet, and will definitely let the restaurant staff know of your kind comments.

Kind regards,
Robert O'Brien
Hotel Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for three nights, rooms are very seventies need an upgrade. The only place to use the internet was at the bottom of the hill - two computer that cost $5 for an hour. Most places now provide free wi if. Meals and service was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassietraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrahanVillage, Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We’ll definitely take on board you comments as we determine what upgrades and improvements are necessary around the property. I’m glad to hear however that you enjoyed the service delivery of our staff, and will pass on your compliments to the chef!

Kind regards,
Robert O'Brien
Hotel Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Attended a conference in Strahan 20 - 23 May. I have been to Strahan twice before for pleasure ...this was a business / pleasure trip, and the first time I stayed at Strahan Village.

The accommodation & location is great! Meals were more than enjoyable, and value for money. The service was very good.

Room Tip: Great place with the basic trimings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScorpioIRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrahanVillage, Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to ehar that you enjoyed your experience, and will pass your compliments on to the chef!

Kind regards,
Robert O'Brien
Hotel Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four days. Breakfast was very ordinary as was the meals during the conference that I attended. The rooms are tired and the king bed needs replacing.
The shower was the worst that I have ever used. It sprayed so hard it actually hurt and it couldn't be adjusted.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cyberchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrahanVillage, Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property, I am so sorry to hear that some of your experiences were not satisfactory.

We’re currently in the middle of conducting a review of visitor feedback regarding our property. This review will help us determine the upgrades and improvements necessary, so thank you for assisting us in this project. Your comments will definitely be taken on board.

Sincerely,
Robert O’Brien
Hotel Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Property: Strahan Village
Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing