We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, good room but run to a formula”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 2 April 2006

Strahan Village is a motley collection of buildings and eateries all under the Federal management. The room we chose, a mini-suite on the waterfront, was quiet, spacious and comfortable, with good views over the harbour. There was an unpleasant smell of drains some of the time, but these things happen. We also had to walk past an oveflowing dustbin to get to the room, and the hotel should have been able to do something about that. The hotel is conveniently located close to restaurants, Gordon River cruises etc.

Strahan is an attractive town where we only spent two nights. The full day was taken up with the Gordon River cruise whiich is enjoyable though a bit commercial with c 200 people on board. If you have time and are going up the western Explorer (which is a fantastic drive), the Pieman or Arthur river cruise would probably be more intimate and enjoyable. We did not go on the Wilderness railway, though on reflection, that might have been as good a trip as the river cruise. A drive out to Ocean beach or Henty Dunes is well worthwhile.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Traveller8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2006

This place is lovely but let down by the management. We checked into the hotel at the office which is by the harbour. The hotel is actually up a hill and sits overlooking the bay with rooms either enjoying wonderful water views or the car park depending on how much you spend.

We drove up to the hotel and humped our cases up to the first floor and down the long corridor only to find the key card did'nt work. I walked down the hill back to the office where they reprogrammed it and I walked back up the hill - about 10 mins. The key worked this time but it was somebody elses room !!! So I walked back down the hill again. 10 mins later back with another key on the ground floor so we humped our bags back to find the room was dark and overlooked the car park. There was no distance between the cars parking and the room so you felt like cars were almost in the room with you. We asked for an upgrade and was offered a bayview room for an extra payment which we took.

After another trip down the hill we arrived in a lovely room with beautiful views of the bay and the village. The room had folding doors and a balcony which you could sit on and watch the sun go down or see the seaplanes taking off. Pictures attached.

Strahan Village really is a village with a few shops and restaurants plus the hotel wholly owned by the same company which owns the Hobart casino. It is remote and I guess not easy to find quality staff. Cleaners were a problem being noisy and desperate to clean the rooms early. We had one burst into the room at 8 am and do not disturb signs were greated with loud door slamming. Do not expect a lie in.

We only stayed 3 nights and weather made it difficult to experience everything we planned to but that was not the hotels fault. We enjoyed the views and the village although would not want to have spent any longer there.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank dugongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2005

We were recently able to spend a night at the Quality Inn Suites in Strahan Village.
Our 'house' was a two storey white one directly opposite the water - we had a ground floor room and I think there were 3 others in the building.
We were part of a large group and we all enjoyed the novelty of being allocated rooms in the various houses.
Quite a number had obviously been newly renovated and were very clean and fresh.
You could not fault ours - and there was very little noise from the other tenants.
The only drawback was the necessity to either walk up quite a steep walkway to the main building for meals or there was a shuttle which operated on demand.
We had both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which was very pleasant and had a lovely panoramic view of the Harbour.
We were sorry we were not able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vilavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C W Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odeccedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt eine grosse Auswahl, fragen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gemse86919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beatricez700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
88 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
186 reviews
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: £63 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing