We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not brilliant but not bad”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 24 January 2007

We stayed here for one night in mid January - myself, my wife and our 2 wee ones - 4 and 6 years old.

We paid $280 for a small cottage on the main street opposite the bay.

Given the mixed reviews on this site we were rather apprehensive. However the cottage was fine. Clean, comfortable and relatively spacious. The main room had a dining table, tv, mini bar etc and queen sized bed. There was a small area with fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. Good sized bathroom and shower and then 2 single beds for the kids.

The cottage was certainly not luxurious but perfectly adequate. The 2 cottages either side were incredibly close but we heard nothing from either side.

We also had a nice view onto the bay.

The staff were excellent and really we had no complaints. Indeed we left behing my daughters hat and sunglasses and they kindly rang us twice a few days after we left and arranged to deliver these to us.

Strahan itself is very small with a main street that has the bay on one side and a row of shops. Mainly restaurants and cafes, bakery and bottle shop. The Gordon River cruises and the sea plane depart from here, as do some of the 4wd tours.

Strahan was quiet, the people friendly and the setting lovely. And 7 kms away is the awesome Ocean Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Haggis_Supper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2006

There isn't much choice for accommodations in Strahan, an unexciting small place in a lovely setting. Strahan Village- owned by Federal Hotels which also owns most of the unmemorable eateries in Strahan- comprises a hilltop motel (much the best bet as we learned) and also a large variety of buildings strung along street level.
You check in at an uninviting central building and they tell you where to drive to, give you a swipe card for the street door,and leave you to find it and then haul your bags up a 24-step metal staicase (in our case) to our " Village Waterfront Terrace " room. This was on the lines of a '50s boardinghouse, had of course no a/c, was right on the main street, and with windows which didn't open properly. Quite a dump, except the bathroom had been renovated.
We checked out the more attractive-looking motel on top of the hill and then drove back to "Reception" to get switched. Surprisingly, they had a room but wanted more money. Our agent had never given me a breakdown of each reservation - despite repeated requests - and we paid over $100 (later refunded by the agent after our complaint) and for 2 days we had a very reasonable room in the front row of the motel with a fine view.

The food at the motel was much like the food at the places on the street but we survived. And in fairness to Tasmania, this was the only bad food experience - Hobart, Cradle Mountain & Launceston all ok.

Lessons from this for me ( & for anyone Strahan-bound) :
1. Never deal with an agent who quotes a "package" and then finds all sorts of problems in giving the breakdown ( mea maxima culpa, certainly should have known better after all our travels- never ever again)
2. If you go to Strahan , don't expect a high eating- out experience, and do insist on a room in the front row of the hilltop motel.
3. Based on our experience, try to avoid Federal Hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank angmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2006

We spent 3 nights in an executive waterfont hilltop room and it is definitely the only way to go for accomodation at strahan village (although i do not recommend for people with mobility issues and the room is split level). The view from the balcony was out of this world. Federal Hotels, the owner of strahan village basically owns half of strahan so there are many accomodation choices to chose from. I was really happy with the value for money of thise room and the view was well worth the extra money over the other hilltop option and we had fabulous weather to make the most out of enjoying it. Even the minibar was reasonably priced! We had no trouble with the staff but the food at the venue was the only thing letting it down. Federal Hotels also owns half the food options in strahan and the Hamers grill on the main street is an absolute shocker! I had been warned but still had to give it a go and no doubt anyone reading this will as well....! but the buffet at view 42 was far better. It is a bit of a hike down the hill to the main street but there is a custosy bus that will take you down which was a fabulous idea and atleast the walk up the hill is some good exercise so we didn't have any problem with this. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rach&Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2006

Strahan Village is a motley collection of buildings and eateries all under the Federal management. The room we chose, a mini-suite on the waterfront, was quiet, spacious and comfortable, with good views over the harbour. There was an unpleasant smell of drains some of the time, but these things happen. We also had to walk past an oveflowing dustbin to get to the room, and the hotel should have been able to do something about that. The hotel is conveniently located close to restaurants, Gordon River cruises etc.

Strahan is an attractive town where we only spent two nights. The full day was taken up with the Gordon River cruise whiich is enjoyable though a bit commercial with c 200 people on board. If you have time and are going up the western Explorer (which is a fantastic drive), the Pieman or Arthur river cruise would probably be more intimate and enjoyable. We did not go on the Wilderness railway, though on reflection, that might have been as good a trip as the river cruise. A drive out to Ocean beach or Henty Dunes is well worthwhile.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Traveller8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2006

This place is lovely but let down by the management. We checked into the hotel at the office which is by the harbour. The hotel is actually up a hill and sits overlooking the bay with rooms either enjoying wonderful water views or the car park depending on how much you spend.

We drove up to the hotel and humped our cases up to the first floor and down the long corridor only to find the key card did'nt work. I walked down the hill back to the office where they reprogrammed it and I walked back up the hill - about 10 mins. The key worked this time but it was somebody elses room !!! So I walked back down the hill again. 10 mins later back with another key on the ground floor so we humped our bags back to find the room was dark and overlooked the car park. There was no distance between the cars parking and the room so you felt like cars were almost in the room with you. We asked for an upgrade and was offered a bayview room for an extra payment which we took.

After another trip down the hill we arrived in a lovely room with beautiful views of the bay and the village. The room had folding doors and a balcony which you could sit on and watch the sun go down or see the seaplanes taking off. Pictures attached.

Strahan Village really is a village with a few shops and restaurants plus the hotel wholly owned by the same company which owns the Hobart casino. It is remote and I guess not easy to find quality staff. Cleaners were a problem being noisy and desperate to clean the rooms early. We had one burst into the room at 8 am and do not disturb signs were greated with loud door slamming. Do not expect a lie in.

We only stayed 3 nights and weather made it difficult to experience everything we planned to but that was not the hotels fault. We enjoyed the views and the village although would not want to have spent any longer there.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank dugongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2005

We were recently able to spend a night at the Quality Inn Suites in Strahan Village.
Our 'house' was a two storey white one directly opposite the water - we had a ground floor room and I think there were 3 others in the building.
We were part of a large group and we all enjoyed the novelty of being allocated rooms in the various houses.
Quite a number had obviously been newly renovated and were very clean and fresh.
You could not fault ours - and there was very little noise from the other tenants.
The only drawback was the necessity to either walk up quite a steep walkway to the main building for meals or there was a shuttle which operated on demand.
We had both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which was very pleasant and had a lovely panoramic view of the Harbour.
We were sorry we were not able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vilavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: surtout évitezles 2 dépendances situées sur le parking de l'hôtel principal !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joëlle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: £65 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing