We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely space”
Review of Risby Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Risby Cove
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely space”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in the "barge" room. It had 2 bedrooms with a cot which was perfect for our family with 3 young kids. The living area was really spacious and the deck over looking the water at sunset was beautiful. We received a delightful welcome from reception, including activity bags for the kids, which was lovely after a long drive. A nice walk into town for dinner at the pub and cruise the next day. Everything was in fine condition and just what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlinemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    86
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
53
171
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dalston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Doesn't look too attractive from outside, but room was really nice. Clean & plenty of space. The view over the bay was fantastic.

On arrival we asked to book a table in restaurant but were disappointed to be told they were fully booked. Later on we were about to leave to look for somewhere else to eat when the staff phoned to say they had a table following a cancellation, which we thought was great service. Food in restaurant was great.

Short walk to cruise ships & Hoggarth Falls.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank havenexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in September in a waterfront room - separate to the main building. The room was a bit tired and ready for an update - but the water view from the lounge area distracted us from the interior.

Strahan village is a convenient 10 minute walk - and strongly recommend walking to the village for meals as the risby cove restaurant was expensive and very disappointing.

We also recommend that you don't purchase your Gordon River cruise tickets through this hotel. Unlike most other hotels/b&bs in Strahan which offer a ticket discount of 15-20%, Risby Cove do not offer any discounts. Make sure you shop around online in advance to purchase your tickets.

Otherwise, a pleasant stay - but we would probably choose to stay in the village next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We fell in love with Risby Cove and didn't want to leave. The staff were all so friendly and knowledgable. We stayed in "The Boathouse" which is much like a beach house but with all the trimmings. The view from the deck, and living room, was gorgeous. It was hard to force ourselves to go do things. we found ourselves sipping tea, hot cocoa and local port on the deck while watching boats pass and beautiful sunsets. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed and the bed was SO comfy. The spa bath was huge and deep. So relaxing. We will be back, a perfect stay. Thank you Risby Cove!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The most beautiful view from the Shed that i stayed in! Although it was just 2 nights, the stay was comfortable. The shed was warm, detached from the main building so i had the mini deck to soak in the sun ( the little time that i had) or the rain..... it was on and off! The shed was spacious with a mini bar, coffee/tea making facilities, WIFI and a cozy bed. The breakfast was more than adequate and delicious. Bathroom amenities were adequate and with a complimentary bottle of Sherry, what more could one ask for to spend the evening with a few friends? The place exceeded my expectations and i would definitely love to go back and stay there again. I had some unexpected visitors early in the morning as well...... quack quack!

Room Tip: Try the Shed.... Aloof, quiet and a fantastic unhindered view of the cove and the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrutineyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We chose Strahan as a quiet few days amongst a tight schedule driving holiday. We had the top floor over looking the harbour. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff who were wonderful and friendly.
The view from the window was just breathtaking. The accommodation was large and warm with a spa bath. The free laundry facilities were shared and can be used by guests after 3pm. Hogarth falls was in walking distance as was the main town centre. We were happy to lounge around and take in the view which was useful as Strahan is a sleepy town with little happening especially on a Sunday although you can take jet boat rides from the accommodation and book in with the cruises. The accommodation has a microwave, fridge and sink however, there is a onsite restaurant. I would thoroughly recommend this place for families with older children.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night in the "Jetty" which is a two bedroom accommodation. The Jetty is a second storey unit with a little deck and a fabulous outlook across the cove. Is was spacious, with two comfy couches and very clean.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and had a great meal. Would definitely stay again and recommend this place to others.
Short walk to the town centre. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Risby Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Risby Cove

Property: Risby Cove
Address: The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Risby Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Risby Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Risby Cove Strahan, Tasmania
Risby Cove Hotel Strahan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing