We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant serves the best fillet eye steak in the world”
Review of Risby Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Risby Cove
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 12 December 2013

On a recent visit to Tasmania we dined in the Risby Cove restaurant. The Service was excellent ,the food presentation was of the highest standard. I had the fillet eye steak it was so good I asked to see the chef personally to compliment him it was delicious. It's a must if you are visiting Strahan.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Widowtwankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Risby Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Only stayed the one night but was very happy. Great location and view, easy walk into town. We stayed in the boathouse which is a separate stand-alone building consisting of two separate rooms both with absolute water frontage. My partner loved feeding a crew of friendly ducks. We were travelling with other friends who were staying over the road from Risby Cove and wish we had of pre-booked the restaurant for dinner as by the time we settled on it for dinner we were too late to get a booking for 5 people. We compensated by having breakfast in the restaurant the next morning and it was fantastic. The food was clever - get the parmesan coated poached eggs - although the waiter seemed to be on his first day and struggled with the basics including mucking up a couple of orders however the kitchen quickly fixed that when we sent the wrong meals back. All in all, I really liked this place and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in the "barge" room. It had 2 bedrooms with a cot which was perfect for our family with 3 young kids. The living area was really spacious and the deck over looking the water at sunset was beautiful. We received a delightful welcome from reception, including activity bags for the kids, which was lovely after a long drive. A nice walk into town for dinner at the pub and cruise the next day. Everything was in fine condition and just what we needed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlinemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Doesn't look too attractive from outside, but room was really nice. Clean & plenty of space. The view over the bay was fantastic.

On arrival we asked to book a table in restaurant but were disappointed to be told they were fully booked. Later on we were about to leave to look for somewhere else to eat when the staff phoned to say they had a table following a cancellation, which we thought was great service. Food in restaurant was great.

Short walk to cruise ships & Hoggarth Falls.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank havenexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in September in a waterfront room - separate to the main building. The room was a bit tired and ready for an update - but the water view from the lounge area distracted us from the interior.

Strahan village is a convenient 10 minute walk - and strongly recommend walking to the village for meals as the risby cove restaurant was expensive and very disappointing.

We also recommend that you don't purchase your Gordon River cruise tickets through this hotel. Unlike most other hotels/b&bs in Strahan which offer a ticket discount of 15-20%, Risby Cove do not offer any discounts. Make sure you shop around online in advance to purchase your tickets.

Otherwise, a pleasant stay - but we would probably choose to stay in the village next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We fell in love with Risby Cove and didn't want to leave. The staff were all so friendly and knowledgable. We stayed in "The Boathouse" which is much like a beach house but with all the trimmings. The view from the deck, and living room, was gorgeous. It was hard to force ourselves to go do things. we found ourselves sipping tea, hot cocoa and local port on the deck while watching boats pass and beautiful sunsets. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed and the bed was SO comfy. The spa bath was huge and deep. So relaxing. We will be back, a perfect stay. Thank you Risby Cove!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The most beautiful view from the Shed that i stayed in! Although it was just 2 nights, the stay was comfortable. The shed was warm, detached from the main building so i had the mini deck to soak in the sun ( the little time that i had) or the rain..... it was on and off! The shed was spacious with a mini bar, coffee/tea making facilities, WIFI and a cozy bed. The breakfast was more than adequate and delicious. Bathroom amenities were adequate and with a complimentary bottle of Sherry, what more could one ask for to spend the evening with a few friends? The place exceeded my expectations and i would definitely love to go back and stay there again. I had some unexpected visitors early in the morning as well...... quack quack!

Room Tip: Try the Shed.... Aloof, quiet and a fantastic unhindered view of the cove and the harbor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrutineyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Risby Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Risby Cove

Address: The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: £112 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Risby Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Risby Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Risby Cove Strahan, Tasmania
Risby Cove Hotel Strahan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing