We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run”

West Coast Wilderness Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$241.79*
and up
King River Gorge White Water Rafting Day Trip from Queenstown Including the...
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Strahan
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step back in time, reliving the history as you climb aboard a majestic steam train. Indulge in local produce, watch the modern day workings of the locomotives, stroll through the rainforest, or simply relax and enjoy the motion of the train. The West Coast Wilderness Railway experience has something to offer everyone. With a range of full day and half day steam train experiences, departing from both Queenstown Station and the historic harbourside Regatta Point Station in Strahan, there is a journey to suit everyone. Discover the enchanting Gondwana rainforest - still home to the ancient Huon pine - from the comfort of your carriage, or the many opportunities to disembark at the outlying stations and explore at your own pace. Book today and let us welcome you onboard.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well Run”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We thought we should do this while we were in the area and certainly weren't disappointed. A lot of effort had gone into making this an interesting journey. At the time we did our trip we booked on the Wilderness Carriage with the balcony out the back of the railcar. The fare didn't include any food and I would recommend you take some morning tea, sandwiches or a thermos if that is the case.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dog-squad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the West Coast Wilderness Railway. I was pleased you enjoyed the experience and would recommend it to others. You may be interested to know that we have reviewed our Wilderness Experience and it now includes a more comprehensive food and beverage component including Tasmanian sparkling wine, morning tea, light lunch and continuous piping hot coffee and tea!
Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    175
    45
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Oz
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“All aboard at Queenstown Station!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was very glad that I had the opportunity to pre-purchase our tickets aboard the Spirit of Tasmania at a 20% discount. These were prepaid and I rang and booked about 5 days prior to arriving in Queenstown, this worked very well. The cost was still not cheap at $71 each but in Tasmania we discovered that not much is and a 20% saving was worth having!

Travelling clockwise around Tassie we opted to do the railway trip after leaving Strahan early, on our way to Cradle Mountain. There is ample pay and display parking at the station at minimal cost and plenty of room for your mobile home.This option worked out very well for us.

I have to give the Wilderness Railway top marks for a brilliant experience. From first arrival at the station you can see the attention to detail in the restoration of the building and then of course the train engine and beautiful carriages. The shop/ticket office staff were friendly and helpful and there was a lovely selection of souvenirs. When we got onto the platform and train I was delighted to find that our commentator was clad in period costume and his skills as a raconteur telling us of the history of the railway were worthy of an Oscar! The young man drew everyone into his storytelling, giving out props and delighting all with his clever sense of humour.

We alighted at each station along the way, panning for gold at one, some folks luckier than others. The highlight of the journey was passing by the King River Gorge which is quite spectacular, make sure you sit on the left as you face forwards. At Rinadeena Station there was a café selling basic snacks, coffee and tea. I have to say this was the only disappointment along the way. Organised chaos would best describe the service there and whilst the poor ladies were doing their best I think there could be some improvements in how this is handled. The food selections could also use some improvement.

At the end of the line there is a short rainforest walk which is really lovely but don't dilly dally or you will miss the turnaround of the engine.

If you take the morning train you will be back in time for lunch. We had a recommendation from a traveller along our way to have a meal at the Empire Hotel opposite the station and we weren't disappointed. The food was delicious and all the better because the hotel ambiance and charm is wonderful, the Empire is a grand old lady and well worth a visit if even for a drink and to support an olde worlde pub that hasn't been swallowed up by big corporation and modernised.

Overall a great experience albeit a tad costly especially for families.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank oztripperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive and constructive review of the West Coast Wilderness Railway.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed the experience and took advantage of our special offer on board the Spirit of Tasmania!
Our on train stewards/ guides provide and exceptional commentary and enjoy dressing up in period costume and bringing to life the fascinating history of the railway and region.
I have taken your comments about the cafe at Rinadeena and will review our product offering and service levels as a result.
Once again thank you for your review and I hope you enjoy the remainder of your time in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Scenery”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Exciting return to the history of the area. The train is extremely comfortable and it really does not matter which option you take as far as accommodation.

The staff are committed and bring the history of the area to life enhancing the journey for all concerned. It si amazing what was achieved with a pick & shovel all those years ago.

The various stops ensure passenger comfort and provide many opportunities to explore the areas around the stations, to pan for gold, or to simply take in the atmosphere and the excitement of the age of the steam engine.

All in all a great time, a fantastic experience, and good value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvey6393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent experience on the West Coast Wilderness Railway. The team are passionate and committed about providing a memorable and interesting experience and bringing some of the fascinating history of the region to life!

We will be open throughout winter operating Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays for all those people who enjoy crisp winter weather while travelling in the warmth of heated restored carriages sipping Tasmanian wines and enjoying Tasmanian produce.

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoy the remainder of your time in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful wilderness”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went and had a look through the Station Museum first then boarded the train, comfortable seats and the carriage was warm.
Our carriage had a great observation platform on the rear. Beautiful rain forest including a bit of rain though not much. Three stops along the way, panned for gold at one and found a small nugget. All in all a fantastic trip and experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DougAndKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent journey on the West Coast Wilderness Railway.
It is a wonderful way to experience the wilderness and magnificent remote rain forest scenery. The carriages are warm and watertight so when the rain forest lives upto its name you can still enjoy the experience in comfort and style.
The balcony on the wilderness carriage provides a great viewing opportunity of the steam engine and scenery.
Thanks again and safe travels for the rest of your time in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true wilderness rail trip”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We rode on this train recently and loved it. The 3 stops each provided something different to see or do e.g. gold panning at the first stop, morning tea at the 2nd, a rainforest walk at the 3rd where we also watched the magnificently kept locomotive being turned manually on a turntable for the return trip to Queenstown. Riding through the dense rainforest on the steepest grade rail in Australia with special commentary from Tom and Andrew (our hosts) kept us informed of what this area of Australia has seen in its past as well as keeping us amused with some of their stories. To hear how the pioneers tamed small sections of this very mountainous and densely forested land is truly awe inspiring. The mere detail of how many men worked with only picks and shovels to make this railway possible needs to be seen to be believed. We were very pleased that we were able to participate in this particular tourist destination - at this time of year the train was only running four days each week.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the West Coast Wilderness Railway following your recent visit to the west coast of Tasmania.
I am delighted you enjoyed the rail journey, the activities along the way and the commentary provided by Tom and Andrew.
The West Coast has a long and intriguing history and I am pleased we were able to share it with you.
The railway will continue to operate throughout winter with three services every week, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.
Once again thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor and I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Wilderness Railway also viewed

 

Been to West Coast Wilderness Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing