We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Don't miss it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Coast Wilderness Railway

West Coast Wilderness Railway
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Strahan
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step back in time, reliving the history as you climb aboard a majestic steam train. Indulge in local produce, watch the modern day workings of the locomotives, stroll through the rainforest, or simply relax and enjoy the motion of the train. The West Coast Wilderness Railway experience has something to offer everyone. With a range of full day and half day steam train experiences, departing from both Queenstown Station and the historic harbourside Regatta Point Station in Strahan, there is a journey to suit everyone. Discover the enchanting Gondwana rainforest - still home to the ancient Huon pine - from the comfort of your carriage, or the many opportunities to disembark at the outlying stations and explore at your own pace. Book today and let us welcome you onboard.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get the last seats on the winter carriage for this railway experience which runs less frequently in winter. We thought 'no need to book, it's winter so no one will be there' but we underestimated the popularity of this attraction!
Our carriage was full of a lovely bunch of people, some other couples and a few families with kids. It was a great atmosphere and our host Tom did an amazing job. His enthusiasm was contagious and he entertained us with facts and stories about the railway and surrounding mines.
The carriage was very warm and comfortable with great views out the big glass windows. Tom even came around with a chux and wiped the fog off the windows so we could see!
The food was very nice and well spaced out, and I liked the activities at each of the train stations (gold panning, rainforest walk and scones with jam and cream).
I would recommend this to anyone and we'll definitely be back in summer to ride the little steam train again.

Helpful?
1 Thank WednesdayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It was a pleasure to read your recent review of the West Coast Wilderness Railway and I was thrilled that you enjoyed the experience. Tom does a fantastic job and is passionate about west coast history, the wilderness and ensuring passengers have a positive experience.

We are in the process of finalising the summer season programme and when it is implemented it will provide new and unique experiences.

Once again thank you for your generous review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    168
    42
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for enthusiasts...and the rest of us too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Departing from Queenstown, this beautifully restored steam train will take about four hours to complete a round trip that includes a slow climb up through the West Coast mountains, stopping at several restored stations (all with very gratefully welcomed bathroom facilities), before the engine is uncoupled and turned at Dubbil Barril station for the downhill run back to Queenstown.
From the engine, to the carriages, to the stations to the track itself, this trip is a testament to the ingenuity (and bloody hard work) of both the engineers and settlers who created it, and to the workers and volunteers who have restored it.
It's also an incredible way to take in some breathtaking Tasmanian scenery and interesting historical information.
The trip isn't cheap with tickets starting from $89 per adult, up to $145. Family pricing structures are available. Lunch and refreshments are included (along with a bit of bubbly and hot beverages).
This is a restored, period steam train so it's not luxurious travel by today's standards. It's breezy, noisy, smelly and the seats aren't exactly plush. However, it's not uncomfortable and it's all part of the fun.
It is a long day, though, and small children might get a bit bored in between the small number of relatively (and slightly frustratingly) short station stops.
Queenstown itself is an interesting historical jumping off point. It's close to Strahan, Zeehan and Rosebery, all which have interesting things for visitors.
Train enthusiasts are bound to love this trip, and even if you don't have a great interest, it's a pretty nice way to spend the day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gaskill71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the West Coast Wilderness Railway. I was pleased you enjoyed the overall experience and would recommend it to others. The train chugs up and down some of the steepest rail in the world - an amazing feat today and even more amazing when it opened 117 years ago!
The restored carriages are warm however if passengers still feel a little chilly we have rugs for each passenger!
Once again thank you for your comments and I hope you have positive memories of the west coast and Tasmania in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a fantastic way to explore this beautiful and historically rich region.
I had limited time but really wanted to see the wilderness forest, get an insight into the history of this mining region and I'm a sucker for ride on a steam train.
The time-generous tour offered all of this and more in a highly professional way. I'd put it way up in the same category as the famous Pennicott boat tours off Bruny Island, (another memorable experience.)
The interpretation along the way was unflaggingly engaging, the train itself is a wonder and the landscape - whatever the weather, is spectacular.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the West Coast Wilderness Railway. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the interpretation that focusses on the history of the region and magnificent wilderness. The railway is operating throughout winter and passengers can enjoy the wilderness and history from the warmth of the Wilderness carriage while enjoying morning tea and lunch.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the West Coast Wilderness Railway to enjoy another steam train experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

An awesome day, would not have missed it for anything. Trains are kept in beautiful condition, service is outstanding. Do stop at the cafe and round the day off with a late lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our new Steaming Winter Experience! The café team will be thrilled they also received a mention in your review. The café staff are passionate about using Tasmanian produce to bake and create as much as they can in our kitchen. The café is open six days ( Mon-Sat) and a perfect place to have a coffee or snack in Queenstown throughout the day.
Thank you for your response and I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well Run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We thought we should do this while we were in the area and certainly weren't disappointed. A lot of effort had gone into making this an interesting journey. At the time we did our trip we booked on the Wilderness Carriage with the balcony out the back of the railcar. The fare didn't include any food and I would recommend you take some morning tea, sandwiches or a thermos if that is the case.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dog-squad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the West Coast Wilderness Railway. I was pleased you enjoyed the experience and would recommend it to others. You may be interested to know that we have reviewed our Wilderness Experience and it now includes a more comprehensive food and beverage component including Tasmanian sparkling wine, morning tea, light lunch and continuous piping hot coffee and tea!
Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Wilderness Railway also viewed

 

Been to West Coast Wilderness Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing