We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & cosy with plenty of soul!”
Review of Wagner's Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wagner's Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint & cosy with plenty of soul!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Primrose Cottage, and like others, didn't want to leave! We will definitely be back as the stone cottages are set up wonderfully with everything you could ask for with so many small little touches...freshly baked bread with butter and conserves, Tea 2 teabags, plunger coffee, chocolates, good quality Actil towels, port and fresh roses in every room! The fire was even set for us...and Belinda is the most wonderful, friendly, welcoming, happy host!! We settled down in the extensive rose garden for afternoon tea and relaxed...Belinda gave us great information on where to eat for dinner (excellent seafood in Swansea) and was incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble...she was even around to see us off in the early morning...cannot recommend it highly enough & look forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outdoors_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
119
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay in the Studio cottage. The roses in the garden were fantastic and Belinda had fashioned them into arrangements throughout the cottage. It was cold and rainy while we were visiting, so I really enjoyed the deep Jacuzzi tub after a trek through Freycinet National Park. Belinda provided a lovely breakfast including home made bread. I needed to use the internet and there is no WiFi, so Belinda was kind enough to let me use her computer. She also has an awesome DVD collection. I loved hearing the birds in the morning out in the garden and altogether had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Primrose Cottage for 2 nights and the only thing I would complain about is that it wasn't long enough! The owners are so friendly and made us feel welcome, the cottage was clean, stocked everything you need and had a tonne of charm. The homemade bread and scones was the 'cherry on the top'. I would definitely recommend Wagner's Cottages to others who are after a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014MandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed at Primrose Cottage, it was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable, I could have stayed in there for days.

The owners are lovely and available if you need them.

Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahE1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Hollyhock cottage for two nights and couldn't be more impressed. The attention to detail and the little extras were unbelievable. Belinda the host could not have been more welcoming. We were supplied with freshly baked bread upon arrival, freshly cut flowers in each room, cereals, a BBQ for use with all utensils and oils ready to go. The place was very clean and the gardens well kept. The fire place was ready for instant ignition which was very handy. Couldn't recommend this place enough. On our second day we were treated with some freshly baked scones with cream and jam.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hammos86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We chose Hollyhock cottage as we were a party of three adults , the cottage has 2 good size ground floor bedrooms .On arriving we were welcomed by our host who had fresh baked bread to tempt us. Delicious scones , jam & cream followed later. The cottage is a period style build & blends well with other original cottages in a truly delightful garden setting . All quite private , we never saw or heard other guests . Top rating for cleanliness, and attention to detail. Many thoughtful additions such as chocolates, port, fresh flowers , cereal milk . We struck excessive hot weather so were relieved to have air-conditioner, but there is also log fire for chilly days. Washing machine was added bonus for us! I enjoyed sitting in garden at rear of cottage in late afternoon watching the rabbits pop out from under the bushes, lots of wonderful bird life just outside cottage windows. Although cottages are close to road we did not notice noise and had peaceful nights of sleep. A perfect stay!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tardustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Lake, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were welcomed with fresh bread and scones from our hosts' kitchen, which made a great first impression. Service was polite and friendly. The cottage itself was a beautiful, period piece of Tasmanian farmhouse architecture that was well stocked with all essentials and a few extras, like half a caraffe of port and plunger coffee. Definitely recommended for honeymooners or couples looking for a few nights away.The town and beach front have a quiet, homely charm and there are a few spots of interest, such as the war museum and nearby walking tracks. Also conveniently situated re the East coast/Freycinet wine route. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
1.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
457 reviews
10.0 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
395 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
300 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
144 reviews
11.8 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagner's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagner's Cottages

Property: Wagner's Cottages
Address: 13182 Tasman Hwy, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagner's Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wagners Cottage is heritage listed and the gardens and estate are still surrounded by original drystone walls built by Michael Wagner and his son in circa 1860. Our four cottages are positioned throughout the estate and as such, enjoy an atmosphere of serenity and privacy. We have studio, one and two bedroom cottages, most with open log fires and luxurious spas to enable you to relax fully after a days exploration of our beautiful Freycinet Coast and surrounding wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wagner's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagner's Cottages Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing