We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Able to take time out and smell the roses” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagner's Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wagner's Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Able to take time out and smell the roses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Special place to enjoy the privacy of Primrose cottage. Everything you could ask for and more. Beyond expectations and highly recommended. we will return to enjoy the quaintness and privacy.Loved the hot bread and scones Belinda provided and enjoyed the open fire and soapy bath after long and enjoyable hike at Apsley gorge. Saw lots of wallabies

Room Tip: As no swimming pool and fitness centre But I could not deselect. I am sure all cottages would be god...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherandalliepalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
115
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I recently stayed at Wagner's Cottages for 3 nights with my husband. We stayed in the Primrose cottage and it was just beautiful. The cottage was comfortable and much larger than I expected. There is a separate kitchen and separate living area with a wonderful fire place.

This is not your typical bed and breakfast and really is focused on the extras things that make a stay away from home special. There are plush dressing gowns if you want to curl up by the fire, a huge DVD collection available at reception, beautiful roses in vases all around the cottage (as well as in the gardens), comfortable seats to sit outside in the morning or afternoon sun, complimentary port and chocolates just to name a few! The fireplace was even made up and ready to light. The best thing was definitely Belinda, the host, popping over with warm bread on one day and a muesli slice the second day. A very nice woman who is helpful but clearly didn't want to intrude on our privacy.

This really is an exceptional stay and I would highly recommend it for romantic weekends away.

I hope to stay here again, thank you Belinda for making this a beautiful trip.

Room Tip: The Primrose cottage was perfect for a couple with a great fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Primrose Cottage, and like others, didn't want to leave! We will definitely be back as the stone cottages are set up wonderfully with everything you could ask for with so many small little touches...freshly baked bread with butter and conserves, Tea 2 teabags, plunger coffee, chocolates, good quality Actil towels, port and fresh roses in every room! The fire was even set for us...and Belinda is the most wonderful, friendly, welcoming, happy host!! We settled down in the extensive rose garden for afternoon tea and relaxed...Belinda gave us great information on where to eat for dinner (excellent seafood in Swansea) and was incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble...she was even around to see us off in the early morning...cannot recommend it highly enough & look forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outdoors_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay in the Studio cottage. The roses in the garden were fantastic and Belinda had fashioned them into arrangements throughout the cottage. It was cold and rainy while we were visiting, so I really enjoyed the deep Jacuzzi tub after a trek through Freycinet National Park. Belinda provided a lovely breakfast including home made bread. I needed to use the internet and there is no WiFi, so Belinda was kind enough to let me use her computer. She also has an awesome DVD collection. I loved hearing the birds in the morning out in the garden and altogether had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Primrose Cottage for 2 nights and the only thing I would complain about is that it wasn't long enough! The owners are so friendly and made us feel welcome, the cottage was clean, stocked everything you need and had a tonne of charm. The homemade bread and scones was the 'cherry on the top'. I would definitely recommend Wagner's Cottages to others who are after a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014MandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed at Primrose Cottage, it was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable, I could have stayed in there for days.

The owners are lovely and available if you need them.

Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahE1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Hollyhock cottage for two nights and couldn't be more impressed. The attention to detail and the little extras were unbelievable. Belinda the host could not have been more welcoming. We were supplied with freshly baked bread upon arrival, freshly cut flowers in each room, cereals, a BBQ for use with all utensils and oils ready to go. The place was very clean and the gardens well kept. The fire place was ready for instant ignition which was very handy. Couldn't recommend this place enough. On our second day we were treated with some freshly baked scones with cream and jam.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hammos86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
1.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
21.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
1.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
11.1 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagner's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagner's Cottages

Property: Wagner's Cottages
Address: 13182 Tasman Hwy, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagner's Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wagners Cottage is heritage listed and the gardens and estate are still surrounded by original drystone walls built by Michael Wagner and his son in circa 1860. Our four cottages are positioned throughout the estate and as such, enjoy an atmosphere of serenity and privacy. We have studio, one and two bedroom cottages, most with open log fires and luxurious spas to enable you to relax fully after a days exploration of our beautiful Freycinet Coast and surrounding wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wagner's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagner's Cottages Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing