We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER PEPAR THIN WALL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swansea Backpackers
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Front desk guy was really friendly, helpful. Building looks modern and new, but double room was very small with double bed and single bed, small tiny windows. that was still ok for 87 dollars(+5 dollars booking fee) per night.

When we came back at our room after dinner, we could hear very well what neighbors of our room talking are. We could know even left side are Chinese, right side are Scottish, what they wanna do tomorrow bra bra, what we never wanted to know.

Fortunately They start to sleep 23:00, so we could start to sleep then. But after midnight, drank young backpakers came back from pub next door, they running the passage, shut the door, everything we could hear verrrry well. Even the car noise in very early morning. Between car park and our room, there are other rooms and a passage.

I wonder how they could make such a ultra paper thin wall. It was the worst night of our seven night Tassie trip and it wasn't the cheapest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uron00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

Visited here after being quoted extortionate rates for the two hotels in town, was given a private room with shared shower / bathroom which wasn't a problem as the place wasn't that busy.
Ken, the host was very welcoming and helpful and showed me around and recommended the pub next door for dinner. The room was very comfortable and the whole facility was clean and tidy, all at less than half the price of the hotels up the road. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boredinsouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Great backpackers.Modern and vey clean. Everything you need for a comfortable stay. Was impressed and will be back. May need to change the 5 minute shower system in winter as we found by the time it warms up it leaves you little time to shower. Will recommend to anyone the should check this place out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlad39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Manager made this Flashpacker sound absolutely amazing on the phone - enticed us with a heavily discounted rate (we repeated back his offer to him for clarification because we thought it was a great deal). Upon late arrival was checked into a spill over room as part of the Managers quarters.Room was clean. Wardrobe contained boxes and xmas decorations. Not long after settling in cigarette smoke from the Manager seeped into our room. In the morning we were woken to a continuos sound loop coming from a historic visitor's centre 2 metres from our room. Bathrooms were filthy. Hair everywhere, hair clogged drains, used bad aid in drain, no toilet paper. Upon checkout (had vacated room at correct time, but were still using the kitchen - Manager made comment to my partner) Manager had no recollection of heavily discounted offer that my partner and I heard him offer us in initial phone call. He proceeded to charge us at a higher rate than the agreed offer. Overall, very disappointing experience not keen to ever repeat.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldGlobeSphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A group of 8 Victorians stayed here for one night on our way down the coast to the Falls Festival but we wish we could have stayed longer - from Ken's friendly phone calls to the welcome gift of the cricket set, we had a great stay.

The hostel is very modern and quite a lot bigger than other hostels I have stayed in (mainly Europe) including the rooms. The bathroom was very clean and included 2 showers with water timers (great idea - nothing worse than fellow guests hogging the hot water) and plenty of bench space.

It has a very rustic, yet modern vibe and Ken really makes it such great place. He happily chatted away with the members of our group long into the night and was up again early the next morning with a smile on his face joining in on our game of cricket on the lawn.

The hostel is very conveniently located next to a pub and a large bakery - so getting supplies and fed was easy.

If I am ever in this neck of the woods, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Ken's place again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtneylogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst exploring the Freycinet Peninsula - clean, facilities are relatively new still, good layout, good location - walking distance to town centre and yummy places to get fresh seafood. Ken, who has only recently taken over management, was exceptionally helpful and friendly, even after our booking was somewhat stuffed-up - he went out of his way to fix things for us. Thanks again Ken!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed one night here in December 2011 and very impressed with the accommodation which has clearly been designed by somebody who knows backpackers! Also found the manager (a male named ?Ken) to be very welcoming and knowledgeable so I suspect the issue noted in other reviews with a bad manager has been resolved. It was midweek and there were only four of us staying so I had a dorm to myself, which probably explained my excellent sleep! Very spacious common area with a large kitchen, pool table, clean bathrooms (5 minute timed showers MAX) and laundry facilities. Dorms have only 4 beds though feel a little crammed. Swansea itself seemed nothing special but the accommodation makes a nice overnight stop on the east coast from say Hobart or Port Arthur to Freycinet. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitch2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
317 reviews
20.8 mi away
Bicheno Backpackers
Bicheno Backpackers
#4 of 12 in Bicheno
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Gumleaves Bush Holidays
Gumleaves Bush Holidays
#1 of 1 in Little Swanport
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tandara Hotel Motel
Tandara Hotel Motel
#6 of 8 in Swansea
34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Backpackers

Address: 96 Tasman Hwy, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Price Range: £31 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swansea Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Swansea Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing