We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and frienfly people runnign the place, but a few extra charges”

Swansea Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swansea Backpackers
Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and frienfly people runnign the place, but a few extra charges”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I got recommended this hostel by fellow travelers. Victor and Narelle (if I remember her new correctly) are wonderful people running the place, really nice and helpful. The hostel is really clean and seemed pretty empty when I was there, not many fellow travelers to talk to. In kitchen there's a sign telling that $1 buys you 15 minutes of power to use the stove. Luckily a fellow traveler told that 10c coins would do the same trick. Charging money for use of electricity doesn't sound right to me. And if you are traveling without your own bedlinen (like most of us do!) it will cost you extra $6 to stay cos you'll end up paying about $37 for a night - a price you might be paying in Sydney or any other big city. If you don't have your own car there's a bakery/cafe next door but grocery store is further away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReachingForStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    19
    16
    8
    11
See reviews for
5
19
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The owners are very helpful and lovely and all in all had a great experience! Don't be suprised if noones there- you need to ring. Very cheap and great for the money, but you have to pay for electricity on the stove. Wifi was free but very slow and linen was not the cleanest - only tiny negatives. Dorms are very comfy and very clean. Thankyou!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TICKLE-PICKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Swansea Backpackers on Friday 15th March. We was fortunate to have the whole hostel to ourselves. We was greeted by the most friendliest man I've ever met. He actually spent time talking to us about the hostel and certain areas in Tasmania.
The hostel is very inviting and clearly very well kept. The bathrooms are great for space as are the bedrooms.
The main big downside with this hostel is the fact that the owner is clearly a tight money grabber. You have to pay a dollar to use the stove for 19 minutes. I have travelled to so many hostels and never have I ever had to pay to use a stove. It is actually quite outrageous! However please don't let this put you off this cool hostel! As we found out that if you put a 10c into the machine, you get the same amount of minutes as you would if you used a dollar. So stock up on your 10c guys and Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishborn1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are $70 a night, but We camped in the courtyard for 20$ a night, and had an enjoyable stay. Everything is clean and quite, and the staff is great.

One drawback is that nearly all the amenities are charged (stove, BBQ, washing machine, pool table, wifi). We ended up using our portable stove for cooing as it was cheaper and more convenient.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadicBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I pitched my tent here so didn't stay in any rooms but I did use the other facilities. It was modern and very clean, with loads of space. There's a massive kitchen (although a bit disappointing that you have to pay to use the cookers) and common areas. There is wifi, although it's chargeable.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, and I thought it was good value for money (although I don't know how much the dorms were but camping certainly was).

It's a bit out of the centre of town - but it's only a few minutes walk away. There is a bakery/cafe next door but I didn't try it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hostel was very busy over the period that we stayed and consequently I thought we got a very good deal. The beds were really comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Lockers in the room would have been useful. The bathroom was clean, only two toilets but never a queue. Next door is a pub/bakery where you can get a good breakfast. All in all we had excellent service in a clean, friendly and well equipped hostel despite the busy time period.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

The lady running this place is lovely, very helpful and welcoming. We had a nice clean room and the place was very quiet so no noise. There's a good coffee shop attached for breakfast. Free wifi would have been handy. Recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swansea Holiday Park  Schouten Beach
20.8 mi away
Bicheno Backpackers
Bicheno Backpackers
#5 of 12 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Backpackers

Property: Swansea Backpackers
Address: 96 Tasman Hwy, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Swansea Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Swansea Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing