We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"love, love, loved our stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meredith House and Mews
Ranked #1 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My husband and I as well as our best friends stayed at this beautiful B & B for a total of 4 nights. Everything about our stay was fantastic. On arrival we were shown to our rooms, which were delightful and we just loved the old style furniture and bed linen. Our rooms were really spacious with an amazing spa bath/shower and tea/coffee making facilities also a plate of complimentary homemade cakes and a decanter of port which we all thought was a really friendly gesture.

Well the breakfasts, what can I say, they were' brilliant', the best breakfast's we had ever had anywhere and between the four of us, that is really saying something. My favourite was the "Baked Porridge' it was so tasty and the 'super juice'. Our husband's totally indulged in the homemade croissants, apple strudel cake and warm fresh muffins, while my best friend and I indulged in the hot breakfasts with beautiful mushrooms. All the comments about the breakfasts are true, you don't need to eat for hours after, and we are all missing Meredith House terribly and the breakfasts.

One of the highlights of our stay was spending a chilly afternoon in the sitting room listening to the beautiful classical music in the background, sipping on some port by the warm fireplace. We felt like we were actually living back in time, we felt privileged to be sitting on the beautiful antique chairs.

Noel and Neil's cute little dog Lulu was so adorable, she was never allowed in the breakfast room and was mainly kept out in the back room, but we all fell in love with her and wanted to take her home.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here, we are all most definately going back to visit the boys again on our next visit to Tasmania.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review, we really enjoyed meeting you all and having you stay, we're so glad you enjoyed it and hope to be able to welcome you gain one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived after dark but the owners were waiting along with their little fluffy white dog. It felt like we were being welcomed home. We were shown up to our room and shown all the little quirks and where things were. Now that was impressive! The room itself was really nice with tea/coffee making facilities, muffins and a small decanter of port which was a lovely touch - OH and the port was nice.

The decor in the house was really lovely and gave an olde worlde charm. The sitting room downstairs was really pretty and lit by heaps of lamps. It was so peaceful and lovely and again, there was port for a small drink before bed.

The breakfast the next morning was delicious. There was a huge amount of variety with a large table in the middle that you could pick whatever you wanted from. The hot breakfast was cooked to order and service was really quick. The hot breakfast was really good.

Neil and Noel were both there when we left and chatted about everything really easily. Both fascinating people and Tasmania is so lucky that they made it their home. Would definitely stay there again. This is a perfect romantic escape for locals as well.

Room Tip: Our room was delightful and inside the house. We would like to stay in the Mews next time to see wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazziD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Manager at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your positive review of our accommodation; it is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback; we truly value these responses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Lovely b&b in a small town on the way to freycinet. Great spot to reach Hobart , freycinet and launceston. Stayed In a mews room. Good size , nice furnishings, easy place to stay for a few nights. After a long walk in the park the spa bath was very welcome. As others have said the breakfasts are great, lovely attention to detail and very appreciative of the gluten free options specially supplied. would definitely go back for a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seawall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your great review, we certainly try to accommodate all of our guests needs as best we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at Meredith House over Easter and when shown the room, we were a little disappointed. Our room was small and a little outdated, reminiscent of B&B's in England. I know everyone raves about the breakfast but I thought it was average and made even less so when one of the hosts and some guests decided to pat the dog then go about breakfast touching the communal things without washing their hands. There is however an amazing restaurant down the road called The Banc. The food there was sensational!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking time to submit your review; we are sorry that our B and B did not live up to your expectations. One of our rooms is smaller than the others, and for that reason is a room that we only let out during busy times such as Easter; or if we have to accommodate people who have booked late or have been sent to us from another B & B which has overbooked; which I think was the reason in this case. We are a heritage property so we cannot do much to alter the size of the rooms. Rather than 'outdated' , we feel that Meredith House is what it is, heritage accommodation furnished in a décor that suits the age and style of the property. We have added modern facilities such as en-suite bathrooms, free broadband and wifi access, and LCD TV's, but in its décor we prefer to be true to the heritage of the building; most of our guests delight in this decision. Our breakfast simply isn't just 'average', and I think your comment about it is influenced by your disappointment with the room size. As for patting the dog, we would always wash our hands after doing so, but if you state that one of us didn't do so on this occasion then we apologise and have decided in future to keep our dog out of the way of guests until breakfast is well and truly over. Once again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My partner and I stayed here just before Christmas and were delighted with a room upgrade upon arrival. It was a very comfortable room with a huge spa bath! The rooms were very clean and were serviced everyday we were there. We really enjoyed the free wifi, the extensive local area information guide was a great help. The previous reviews got us very excited for the breakfast and it definitely lived up to expectation. Not only were the breakfasts extensive, but the added touches of homemade, warm muffins that had been made that morning was a lovely touch. There were plenty left over for us to eat throughout the day. Noel and Neal were delightful and just added to the whole experience - both went out of their way to offer any assistance. We stayed on a rainy few days and the added touch of an umbrella left at our door was nice and very thoughtful. You can tell they truly care about their establishment and those who stay there. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your positive review, we certainly try to make people feel welcome, and the added touches are what we would expect to find in any establishment we stayed at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Neal and Noel run the best B&B we have stayed at anywhere in the world.
Their welcoming attitude and accommodating ways with every request make them true hospitality geniuses. Noel's Breakfasts are to die for and you don't need lunch afterwards.
Thanks for another great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annerob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

it is always a pleasure to see you; thanks for staying with us and thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

... served in what's probably the best B&B in Australia. If you are traveling along the east coast of Tasmania, best plan for a stay at Meredith House in Swansea. Noel and Neal are your hosts and run the perfect B&B: spacious rooms, tastefully furnished and decorated, free WiFi (and even a desktop if you left your own device at home) and a breakfast, which is most likely the most lovingly and richest in all Australia - try the Super Juice and the cooked porridge. Lot's of advice on what to do and where to go - they will even book you a table at BANC (also highly recommended) for dinner. DON'T MISS IT.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllaroundAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
489 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schouten House
Schouten House
#4 of 8 in Swansea
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 9 in Swansea
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meredith House and Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meredith House and Mews

Address: 15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range: £94 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meredith House and Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meredith House is a heritage listed 1853 property located centrally in the beautiful seaside town of Swansea on the east coast of Tasmania, the perfect base from which to explore the Freycinet Region and all it has to offer, including Wineglass Bay and Maria Island. 11 en-suite rooms, four with spa bathrooms. Full breakfast is included in the tariff. Meredith House is renowned for its excellent service; we were voted the Peoples Choice at the 2006 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meredith House and Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meredith House And Mews Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing