We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I felt really at home, lots of personal touches...”
other travellers have booked this property
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island
A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Big feather topped couches at Rocky Hills Retreat
A beautiful bathroom
Entry to the Art Studio Rocky Hills Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Swansea, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YuanOeij
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I felt really at home, lots of personal touches, love it!”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A great overall package - The place just makes you feel at home, like you walked into someone's lovely secluded lodge, full privacy, with a great view of the ocean. Everything works well there, very well-equipped kitchen, so much space, beautiful decor with so many personal touches, and lots of trust put in you as a guest without a whole host of house rules or deposits. We felt very comfortable there and its easily one of our top favourite experiences in our 2 week holiday in Tasmania. The price felt very reasonable. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sp8s
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing seclusion and relaxation in a wonderful natural environment.”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The house and location are amazing and you don't want for anything. It is a peaceful and secluded paradise amongst the trees that will leave you refreshed and relaxed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrettbo...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A getaway to remember”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Superb place in rural Tasmania. It's very isolated and your only neighbors are wondering wallabies and Tasmanian devils among the birds. Very peaceful and a real getaway. The house itself is fantastic, you can tell the owner knows what they're doing and the type of high end places they've stayed at. The small touches are wonderful and so nice to have.
One great thing we loved was the availability of the food options in the house. We do love to cook when we travel but can be an ordeal if you're out and about for the day , to then find a supermarket and cook. With this retreat being a little remote it makes going back and forth to a supermarket a bit of an effort. So do be able to make a wonderful soup, breakfast and plenty of other snacking options was a nice treat. Love to go back and stay in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenic549...
1 review
“A FABULOUS RETREAT”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Deep within the Australian bush atop a mountain with breathtaking views to the ocean, simply stunning. Rocky Hills Retreat provides everything you could want for a relaxing holiday. Floor to ceiling glass gives the feeling of being part of the environment, meanwhile the log fire is keeping you snug. Furnishings and artefacts have been selected to create an inspiring atmosphere, so anytime you want to walk up to the beautiful artists studio you can indulge your creative side. Loved this place so much that we're making plans already for a return visit.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for such a wonderful commendation. We look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayGA...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The perfect couples retreat - out of this world!”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The location was spectacular, and the scenery, the quiet, the food, everything - we saw two wombats (and countless wallabies) on our drive in - and when we arrived there was not a soul to disturb us. Everything was laid out perfectly and it was so peaceful and private, the outdoor bath tub was bliss! Such a special place, worth the longer-than-expected drive in and cannot recommend it highly enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay...it certainly is worth the drive to have bliss and peacefulness. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoonYuYee
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Rocky Hills Retreat is the perfect place to be with you family and loved ones. Nestled into tranquility of the woods, it is the perfect get away for city dwellers seeking come quiet and precious moments with loved ones. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with my girlfriend and I have no reservations recommending it to anyone coming this way. It's everything you can hope for in a perfect retreat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
We are so pleased that you had a fabulous time here in our "love shack" do come back again and stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARCODE
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous ....”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

An amazing place in so many ways. Architecturally it is stunning and sits so well in its remote setting, the long off road drive to the property adds to its mystique.

A very warm welcome from Ann and a quick run through of how things worked and we were left on our own to enjoy the tranquility.

This place is VERY special, the attention to detail to is second to none - "everything" a guest could possibly need has been thought of.

Tons if goodies in the fridge and larder as complimentary including chilled champagne - very thoughtful, together with a freezer full of extras should you wish to hole up for a few days and never leave. And why would you?

Stunning scenery to view through the floor to ceiling windows, squashy sofas to wallow in and a super sized super comfy bed.

You can't just pop out for dinner so the fully equipped kitchen is great to prepare meals and we loved the log burning stove as it was chilly at night.

There is a library of DVD's and a pre loaded iPhone with music to play on the Bose speaker.

The place promotes reflection and quiet moments and gives one the chance to flick through some of the gorgeous "coffee table" books which are at times rather risqué.

The nearby artist's studio is available should you wish to be creative, but we couldn't drag ourselves away from the house.

It's probably too far from home for us to ever visit again, but if you are lucky enough to be in Tasmania I would put it up there as a "must see" along with MONA and the beautiful Tasmanian landscape.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to know that our lovely retreat has been enjoyed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing