We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Piermont Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piermont Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on 1st and 2nd December 2013 and we were very happy although the cabins are not as isolated from each other as the website would suggest and are in fact grouped quite closely. Luckily the venue was fairly quiet at that time so this proximity wasn't a real issue. Great view, nice setting, and good facilities. We stayed in Cabin 2 and I would recommend that one (or Cabin 3 although we didn't see inside that cabin). Had dinner one night at the restaurant. Very good food and service - the girl waiting on our table was a born and bred local Swansea person and was really nice, had good local information but wasn't too chatty or inappropriate. All in all, 2 nights of peace and relaxation and although not cheap it is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Piermont Retreat is like heaven on earth. We had a brilliant cottage right on the beach and although the weather wasn't great it didn't take the gloss off this place. The cottage was superb with very comfortable furniture throughout, the Queen size bed was luxurious and the spa bath added that final touch. The staff there are as friendly as can be and very helpful. We didn't use the restaurant deciding instead to journey the short distance up the road to Swansea and ate in the tavern there, nothing at all wrong with the on site restaurant at all this was just our choice.

Would we stay here again ? You bet we would if it wasn't at the other side of the world

Room Tip: All the cottages are good but we chose to be right on the beach and couldn't fault cottage No. 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great location and decks overlooking the bay. It was a wonderful experience to wake up and watch the sunrise over Oyster bay. Truly breathtaking.
We stayed in a one bed house which was like being in a French farm cottage. Very cool with the wood burner and a real escape from the world, but it was getting dated.
The rooms were nice but getting a bit tatty around the edges. Our kitchen must have been 20+ years old, and the grounds were looking somewhat shabby and overgrown.
I don't have a problem with all that in a place a bit cheaper but for these prices you expect everything to be just right.
Service was brisk, information limited or non-existent. Staff did not go out of their way to do anything for us.
Location and experience won at the end of the day and we really enjoyed our stay, but left feeling value for money had been stretched.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night while driving from Hobart to Coles Bay. It was an amazing place to stopover after a long drive and we had the Honeymoon Suite booked which was a beautiful little cabin with its own open fireplace and jacuzzi. The room had a kitchenette which was also nice given there are no shops within walking distance so we could buy breakfast supplies and drive to Swansea town for dinner which was about 5 minutes away. I think this place is perfect as an overnight stay on the way to Coles Bay (which is around 70km away) or alternatively if you are looking for a complete getaway from the world- it certainly provides that! The dinner in their restaurant is expensive, so if you have the opportunity go to one of the small restaurants in town for some delicious fresh seafood.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveling_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just headed up for a night, our 3rd stay at Piermont. We have tried different styles of cottage each stay. (or attempted to) booked a villa and was shocked to find no kitchen amenities, and a conjoined unit. we had come prepared to dine alone in our cottage so this really didn't suit. Despite being fully booked on a busy spring weekend, the gentleman in the office helped us out by swapping a regular to the villa whilst we settled for the older style sea view cottage. Not what we wanted because the villa really was beautiful, but we had put them out and were grateful.

Room Tip: Villas are conjoined and have no kitchen amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a beautiful and tranquil place by the sea. We walked into our 3 bed cottage and just said "wow". It was so pretty with stone and timber and classic but quaint decor. It's on the water with panoramic views of the bay and about 3 minutes from town. It is very quiet and peaceful and eco friendly. A real retreat. There is a very good restaurant there, however we didn't get there this time. We loved it so much we want to visit again soon and stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage but there are quite a few others of varying size. I think they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CateSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in a cottage at Piermont and enjoyed our stay.
We had guessed that there would be a relatively good kitchen so bought plenty of supplies from the local IGA (5-10min drive away in Swansea) for breakfasts etc.
Location was lovely, but the cottages are all close together and bathroom is overlooked by other neighboring cottages which is a real shame.
There was no one at reception when we arrived, and we didn't see anyone there in the 2 days we stayed except when we checked out, so we never worked out where the tennis court or pool was, and could only find 1 tennis racquet at reception anyway, so wouldn't have been able to play if we had found the court!
Was really disappointed that there was heavy machinery operating about 250m from the cottages between 5-6:30pm on a Sunday evening - the noise was very intrusive on our quiet cottage but couldn't find anyone at reception to complain to.
We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was lovely. It was lucky we had our own torch otherwise we never would have found our way back to our cottage though!
Great spot for bird watching and dolphin watching.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KatHnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
22.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
381 reviews
23 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
10 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
307 reviews
10.2 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
583 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piermont Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piermont Retreat

Address: Tasman Highway | Great Oyster Bay, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: £205 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piermont Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance and splendor of Piermont is mirrored in the breathtaking views over Great Oyster Bay to the ever changing colours of Freycinet's National Park ancient granite peaks. Enjoy the understated comfort of this first class accommodation surrounded by natural beauty. When you arrive at Piermont, you'll truly feel as if you have left the world behind- and your worries with it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Piermont Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piermont Retreat Swansea, Tasmania
Piermont Retreat Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing