We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs tweaking”
Review of Piermont Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Piermont Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good but needs tweaking”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed in 4 person cottage . I t was a tad dowdy but comfortable . Broken flyscreens are not a good look . .Strong unpleasant smell all day was probably seaweed but still not nice . Needed more seating in the lounge area . Bed was good butr sharing a bathroom/toilet is undesirable . Had the breakfast hamper for 2 mornings but thought that what we got was one day's breakfast only --- so went hungry the 2nd morning . Views to due for . i t was a pity that the restaurant was closed for 1 of our 2 nights

Room Tip: Clarify what is on breakfast menu . Check availablility of restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JvB0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    135
    58
    30
    11
See reviews for
55
312
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Was mildly concerned by some reviews citing shabbiness, however the cottage (two couples in a two-bedroom stone cottage) was absolutely charming, well maintained and prepared, especially considering we checked in early. The location was spectacular and peaceful. The restaurant experience was divine, the service excellent, absolutely worth the cost. The only downsides to the stay were the unfortunate river smell - which is obviously no fault of the management but took some fortitude to ignore whilst using the tennis court and pool near the river - and the sporadic presence of the management itself. We called the contact number at the desk many many times during our one-night stay, attempting to check in, borrow sports equipment (note only two functioning tennis racquets), book in for dinner and check out while the desk was generally unattended. There was no expectation that the staff be chained to the front desk on such a large property, but a reliable contact number would have saved a lot of time standing awkwardly in reception repeatedly making calls. Further, the staff were not particularly gracious when actually present. However, overall we had a lovely time. BYO tennis racquets for an even better experience!

Room Tip: Two bedroom stone cottage (no. 1) had a fabulous waterfront view, limited parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EffieRRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

After reading some very mixed reviews before our 3rd weekend trip to Piermont in 6 years, we were slightly nervous about what to expect. With an initial slip up with our booking, we were greeted upon arrival with a terrible smell of sewerage, before making our way to our room, which was spacious, clean and really comfortable. The website description offers a ‘partial’ view of the ocean which is what was offered. The furniture was a little tired but we were generally really happy with the room.

For our first night’s meal we had pre-ordered and paid for a degustation, only to find that it was not on offer when we sat down. However, the a la carte meals we ended up ordering were very good; delicious, well presented and reflected the cost well. The main thing that let the experience down was the poor service from the ‘waiting’ staff who were pleasant enough but obviously unfamiliar with what was required. I don’t think it’s too much to expect a basic level of service from a restaurant offering food in the $35-40 bracket. Again, the smell of sewerage wafting in during the meal was also very off putting.

Despite our room meeting all expectations, I doubt we would stay there again unless the reviews improved considerably, as the place really needs to make a number of improvements, especially the smell!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestReviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and 2 young girls enjoyed a 3 night escape at Piermont in January 2014. The resort is a short drive south of Swansea but the quiet and tranquil setting away from holiday bustle makes that totally worthwhile. Our cabin was very close to all facilities, the view from our deck across the bay was breathtaking. The cabin was advertised as 2 bedroom but the 2nd bedroom was actually on an open mezzanine level, which made it a bit difficult to get the children to sleep. The cabin was fully self contained, spacious and had everything we needed, except a microwave which would have been handy. The rooms were clean and tidy, the bathroom would benefit from a décor update but was otherwise fine. Beds were comfy, plenty of space to unpack all our stuff. The tennis court was well maintained, the pool area was a bit rustic but the pool itself was clean and the children loved it, it has amazing views out to sea. We ate at the restaurant on one evening, staff were very helpful re children's meals etc and the food was just delicious. We ate at several different restaurants in Swansea over the weekend, none compared to Piermont. Overall, it was a lovely, relaxing break in a very quiet and peaceful location, thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 71mjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Lovely cottage overlooking the sea, fairly expensive (but have found all Tassie and Australia to be so). I would honestly say by Aussie standards the place was great. Juan accommodated us at very short notice (a party of 3). Cabin/cottage would have been fab for honeymooners, well equipped, lovely bedroom, bathroom and kitchen more than adequate. I guess the place could do with a bit of a spruce up, but it certainly wasn't shabby. I would say best of the bunch around with glorious views and seclusion. . Australia is expensive, and not always top notch.breakfast is listed here as $40 but it is great due to portions and quality.
Didn't get to the restaurant as it was closed on the night we stayed, so cannot comment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This place is not worth the money you will spend. We paid for the honeymoon suite and expected luxury. The 'spa' is actually a shower/tiny corner spa bath. There was no shower curtain, the floors were sandy, there were centipedes in the bathroom and the room dusty. This place has potential but it is not maintained which is evident from the upkeep of both the rooms and the property. Also, there is a horrible smell! When we arrived it was only at the main office but it was windy, the next morning, the wind had died down and that smell was in our room! Not a nice way to wake up.
We expected more given it was the honeymoon suite, we could see our neighbors, we were the cottage on the corner so had the cars drive by, there was no beach view that this place makes out to have and no special romantic touches given the room type ie tea light holders with no candles!
We weren't impressed and won't be returning - lots of nice places in the actual town of swansea.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernery_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here recently for two nights with my partner. It was a beautiful location, secluded, right on the beach and had great views. The cottage itself had a rustic french decor and could have been lovely however, the sheets were extremely stiff, there were possums on the roof all night (not that this is management's fault), and lots of millipedes inside (dead and alive). Outside the cottage there was a huge abundance of dead millipedes surrounded by blue poison. The retreat has a beautiful pool and tennis court however, unfortunately there was a smell emanating from the area (smelt all over the resort but at it's worst here) that was unbearable so we were unable to use the facilities. It is said to be the seaweed but smelt more like a septic tank problem. We did go to the restaurant which I would highly recommend - the food was delicious and some of the best meals I have had in Tasmania. Overall, at $305/night it was disappointing and it was definitely not worth the cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
23.0 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
22.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
10.0 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
10.2 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piermont Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piermont Retreat

Property: Piermont Retreat
Address: Tasman Highway | Great Oyster Bay, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Piermont Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance and splendor of Piermont is mirrored in the breathtaking views over Great Oyster Bay to the ever changing colours of Freycinet's National Park ancient granite peaks. Enjoy the understated comfort of this first class accommodation surrounded by natural beauty. When you arrive at Piermont, you'll truly feel as if you have left the world behind- and your worries with it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piermont Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piermont Retreat Swansea, Tasmania
Piermont Retreat Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing