We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swansea-near the Sea”
Review of Swansea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swansea Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great Central location of this little town, The Room we had did overlook Oyster Bay, with a Balcony out the front. The Bathroom was adequate and looked to have been renovated recently, The Room was average, the Internet was good and free to guest. The Management was friendly and informative. For the price, you cannot expect the world, but the view is worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Balcony if you can -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadda Holiday P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Mine was a cheaper room and there was no sea view. The sea view is great but you can see nothing when it becomes dark. The motel is located in the city center of Swansea and the beach is in front of the motel.

- Free Wi-fi with good speed.
- They have a laundry but have not mentioned in their homepage.
- They have heater and electronic blanket (I did not use).
- No drawbacks, no surprise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our rooms were standard hotel type but clean and tidy and with a good bed. Owners were very friendly and helpful. We loved our ground floor ocean view. Sad that we couldn't stay longer. Centrally located and easy driving distance to Freycinet National Park and local vineyards.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is on the ground and faces the ocean. Lovely private sitting area outside the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We must of visited on an off night, reading others reviews, because the greeting we received from the reception desk was a bit "Norman Bates" and that was after the reminders we'd received on email hat we had to book in before 8pm.
The room was clean but dated - there's plenty of brown here. The beds were OK but not terribly comfortable.
We did have a view out over the water which was lovely and the sunrise was fantastic.

Room Tip: Take a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gobbledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Ask for a sea view room which is still excellent value and we ate at a great restaurant two doors along also overlooking the water. Called Salt we think We did cruise from Coles bay round freycinet then drove on to Swansea to sleep and eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soupy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed one night in the Motor Inn and were offered a large room with beautiful view of the bay.It was clean with a comfortable queen size bed and a large flat screen T/V and spacious bathroom.The owner very kindly allowed me to wash my rented car on his premises.We highly recommend Swansea Motor Inn .
Kind regards Susie and Manfred from Bowral NSW

Stayed: April 2014
Thank herrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

An older motel but very clean and tidy . Nice relaxing views in the water front rooms . Had everything we needed even microwave to heat food. Comfortable bed and good shower. Very close to coffee shops .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
20.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
20.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
9.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Motor Inn

Address: 1c Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: £66 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swansea Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Swansea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Motor Hotel Swansea
Swansea Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing