We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you get”
Review of Redcliffe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redcliffe House
Ranked #5 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Drysdale
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Redcliffe House is a nice old house set in quiet, extensive gardens and, as other reviewers have said consistently, Gail and Nigel are fine hosts. However, in my view it's overpriced. We stayed in the period-style Garden Room. While pleasant enough, it has a 'bathroom' tacked-on to it in which there is barely enough room to turn around; and the plastic-floored shower has no room in which to turn around. The Garden Room's four-poster bed looks lovely but it creaks with literally every move, so sleep can be hard to come by. Finally, we settled down, but 6.00 am is homecoming time for the possum that resides in one of the walls! Like us, it took a while to settle - about forty minutes. An hour later we were woken by guests entering the (very small) dining room across the corridor from us! Breakfast was pleasant, as other reviewers have said. We mentioned the possum episode to Gail, who replied that it was probably rats and that they're quite clean! Gail and Nigel clearly work hard to maintain this old property and to make guests feel welcome - which we did. However, around $90 per head is just too expensive for accommodation of this quaity.

Room Tip: We didn't see any other room - maybe the others are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickDrysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe13569, Owner at Redcliffe House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory. Firstly your room was one of the convict built cottages and yes the ensuite (not bathroom) was "tacked on" as you described it, some years ago, as an addition to the cottage, as there were no bathing vacilities in 1835. The Bathroom has been renovated with all new fittings but as we are 1 1/2 hours from a city we could not get anyone to upgrade our shower enclosures unless they came and did all of our 5 rooms together which was quite costly. Most of our guests stay overnight and until now the ensuite has been quite satisfactory. Secondly the bed is a timber four poster and does squeak as all old timber beds do, and again no one has had a problem with it. Thirdly we don't have possums in the walls, funny, we have starlings sometimes, and as I remember you actually mentioned that you get rats in your walls and that they eat your wiring. Our dining room is "warm and cosy" but so far everyone has loved it. We have just returned from our winter holidays and we stayed in 3 through to 5 star and we feel that we do offer something different and is definately worth a stay. Again we are sorry you were disappointed .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A great, delightful place to stay. Gail and Nigel are wonderful hosts, with nothing too much trouble. The rooms are comfortable and the breakast cooked by Nigel was excellent.
We will certainly stay there again when visting the East Coast of Tasmania.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed in the Garden room for one night while touring Tasmania. The bathroom is tacked onto the back and is very pokey. Quite strange when the bedroom is so spacious and well furnished. In saying that, I only spent 10 minutes in there so it was no great impost. The room was tastefully furnished, the bed was superb. It was the most comfortable bed I slept in while in Tasmania. A very relaxing stay and a well presented breakfast from Gail to boot..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford UK
Level Contributor
185 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

What can we possibly add to other reviews? This was a lovely stay with the most delightful of hosts. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, and with lots of nice extra touches, and breakfast was excellent.
Nigel sent us out hunting for wombats down by the river but all we saw were their burrows - but it was a beautiful place to be walking in, as was the garden.
In our 8 weeks in Australia we did not stay anywhere better.

Room Tip: The Garden room is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe13569, Owner at Redcliffe House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
To hear something so kind makes us very happy.
We are glad you loved our delightful garden room.
Maybe next time for our wombats.
Cheers G&N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Travelling as a group of five adults, we were greeting by Gail and Nigel for our overnight stay. Redcille House is located about 1km from Swansea - in a wornderful rural setting (complete with turkeys, elderly dog and pet lamb. All rooms were beautifully decorated and each had its own ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and generous. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room is a good one - but the two on the ground floor are something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur50255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcliffehouse, Owner at Redcliffe House, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thanks Guys.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Cheers Gail and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invermere, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay there. Gail and Nigel were very gracious. Super good hot breakfast!
Location is ideal for exploring the coast including a trip to Bachino to see Penguins. It would be nice if they could allow use of the kitchen for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swalli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcliffehouse, Owner at Redcliffe House, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
As Redcliffe House is our home, the kitchen is part of our private residence and could not be utilised by our guests for their own use, this is why we keep it as a Bed and Breakfast only.
Most people do not want to cook while they are on holidays anyway, and besides they would miss the lovely food on offer in Swansea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Gail and Nigel were wonderful hosts to stay with and could not do enough for you! Great gardens (and comes with a pet lamb), awesome breakfasts (bacon butties, scrambled eggs, and home made bread) and lovely rooms. Great spot to use as a base from where to check out the East Coast of Tasmania. Gail and Nigel Give great advice and insights on where to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.9 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
10.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
12.6 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Meredith House and Mews
1.3 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe House

Property: Redcliffe House
Address: 13569 Tasman Hwy, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcliffe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redcliffe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Swansea
Redcliffe House Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing