We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Learn about the history of Swansea

This is a great place to begin if you find yourself in the quiet beach community of Swansea. My... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
jonahNJ
,
Pennington, New Jersey
Small but informative museum.

Our teenage daughter selected this museum on our recent trip and we found this museum to be really... read more

Reviewed 17 December 2018
lisapalmer68
,
Wingham, Australia
Read all 51 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Swansea
from US$413.55
More Info
from US$490.59
More Info
from US$83.58
More Info
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
25
19
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
19
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old school gold coin donation local history needed information war memorial wealth of knowledge information centre amazing history visiting swansea quick look volunteers collection meredith exhibits classroom teacher luisa
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

This is a nice little museum with local social and natural history. We enjoyed chatting with one of the volunteers about the town fathers and some of the historical houses around the area. It's free to enter and they have a spot for a coin donation, which helps the local historical society with the upkeep of the museum. It's right across the street from the IGA store, so we found it a convenient stop on our way to Coles Bay to stock up on groceries and learn a bit about the area.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank RachelinKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

If visiting Swansea take a half an hour or so to connect with the amazing history of the district. Followup a visit with a visit to the local cemetery to really make these connections.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank GKS119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to view the towns history. They have the names of fallen and returned soldiers from the district, info about the families that settled the town, plus an old school room.
Must visit. It gives an insight into the names of places around the town including a few of the family owned wineries.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank SarahAshleeEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen M, Curator at East Coast Heritage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to local museum.

Best wishes

Maureen Martin Ferris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

We had a good introduction to the area and were talked through a lot of the history. It is also part of the information centre in Swansea so we picked up useful info and booked a tour of wine glass bay. It helped that they rang through as the weather impacts on the boat running. There is a 2.50 booking fee but worth it for the service you get.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Jean120557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

This appears to be an effort by locals to remember their history and I applaud their desire and their effort but really it needs some professional assistance. Love the fact that they are engaged in saving and recording the local history. They need our support to improve the museum both in content and display. It is a gold coin donation to enter but I would encourage everyone to slip some notes in the box to help.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews