We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Spot, Amazing Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schouten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schouten House
Ranked #4 of 9 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Spot, Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here in late Jan 2014 and we found it a beautiful place with great service and an amazing breakfast. The feel of the house is brilliant with complimentary port down in the lounge room which was great. The other great thing is its proximity to town, a casual stroll along the waterfront circumnavigating the golf course. The golf course is only just across the road also, 9 holes, pretty good for a little country town and great views. It was an honesty box system ($15) with free club hire - so if you forgot yours or are looking to fill in a couple of hours, do it :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is an outstanding B&B offering great hospitality in a heritage property. We arrived to a warm welcome from Jodie. She introduced us to the house, which is furnished in keeping with the Georgian period. There is a comfortable sitting room and pleasant breakfast room. Our bedroom featured an ornate four-poster bed and related furniture. It was a clean, cosy and quiet retreat. Cameron provided delicious cooked breakfasts, with a small range to choose from. He also provided home-made shortbread for afternoon tea in the small garden. Jodie and Cameron were helpful in suggesting and booking local restaurants. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Although Schouten House was a little out of our budget, I decided to book it due to the excellent reviews and was not disappointed. The location is great- only 2 minutes from the beach and a short walk to the small centre of town. Cameron is a welcoming and helpful host. The room was very charming with an antique bed and fittings. Although the bathroom was well equipped, it was pretty tiny. I am a small person and found it tough to move in the shower, so for a taller person this could be annoying. The best part of the stay was definitely the home cooked breakfast- plenty of options with lovely local produce. The included breakfast really makes the fare worth it. There are also two warm guest lounges. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vantango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Delicious full breakfast in the charming dining room. All included in the tariff, I chose bacon and scrambled eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms and it was delicious and 5 star quality. The big plunger of freshly made coffee was perfect. While you wait for your breakfast to be cooked there was a table of home baked fresh bread for toast, locally made jams and stewed fruit or a basket of fresh picked peaches, fruit juices and yoghurt to take from. I was there on Christmas morning and a tray of parfait glasses waited, filled with fresh raspberries and home made whiskey cream. The room was very comfortable. Good linen, towels and plenty of hot water. There are 2 guest lounges. The one downstairs is recently refurbished and is cosy, with fireplace, comfy sofas and a nice atmosphere. Even a large Christmas Tree. The whole house is very elegant but welcoming. Cameron and Jodie are exceptional as hosts. I came last year in Autumn for Easter, Summer is even better and 2 mins walk to the wonderful beach and my family's home. I felt very welcome, as though nothing was too much trouble. Thank you!!

Room Tip: The back room upstairs has a view of the ocean. Room well ventilated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerningtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had two nights at this very pleasant Georgian house at Swansea with our hosts Cameron and Jodie. Every aspect of our stay was outstanding - the room (a twin share), the food and the attention. We recommend it to any traveller to Swansea.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this beautiful house for a night and it was the best B&B ever. The house was beautiful and classic. The bedroom was large, nice and clean. The breakfast was lovely. Everything here was perfect. Cameron and Jodie are friendly and very helpful. We will definitely come back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room number 2 and it was gorgeous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocahontie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Set in a beautiful Georgean house, our room was beautifully presented.
The Food was truelly amazing. All food was sourced locally. They Hosts Jodie and Cameron went out of their way to cook us a beautifull Indian meal for dinner. They only do dinner when especially requested. While it tasted amazing and there was an abundence of food, it was a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlegreenjodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.0 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meredith House and Mews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
10.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
10.2 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schouten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schouten House

Property: Schouten House
Address: 1 Waterloo Rd, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schouten House Bed and Breakfast is a heritage listed home, rich in history and a well known landmark on Tasmania's East Coast. Built in 1844 as an inn it is one of the first substantial buildings to appear in Swansea when the township was being established around a military base on Waterloo Point. Now a comfortable bed and breakfast offering traditional accomodations and a warm welcome, it is an excellent place to call home while you explore the coast and Freycinet Peninsula, or just as a relaxing getaway. Hearty cooked breakfasts, including options such as scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, or our popular pancakes with (really real) maple syrup and bacon, are included for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Schouten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schouten House Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing