We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unclean & overpriced holiday unit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unclean & overpriced holiday unit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed in one of the self contained 'Holiday Units', unit 2 I think.
Yuck, it really needed a good clean (sticky carpet), and was a little smelly. These units really need to be either knocked down or heavily renovated they are very dated. Definitely no value for money here.
We had to go and ask for fresh towels on the third day.

On the fourth day of our five night stay, we decided to call it quits and go home. We started to miss the comforts of home that we took for granted!

We love Ulverstone though and we are continually on the lookout for great accommodation for a family of four. One day I hope we find something we can keep going back to year after year!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed in the Holiday park for 1 week. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. The grounds are beautifully kept and no excess grass cuttings to trample through your Motorhome/Caravan. The amenities are clean, well maintained and no extra charge for the showers. A well maintained laundry is also available. The park is adjacent to the beach with easy access from the park.

Room Tip: We have a very large Motor Home and we could easily fit our Motor Home and Trailer on the site. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Wonderful staff so helpful going out of their way fo our family. Beautiful position

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootsinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

ulverstone is a lovely town close to devonport (about 15mins by car from the spirit). Fantastic restaurants and shopping and a great gateway to cradle mountain for a day trip with out the expensive stay over in the resorts on the mountain.
The cabins in the park are modern, clean and comfortable, camp grounds are open and opposite the beach. Jumping pillow, campers kitchen and playground good for kids and the amenity block is clean and well maintained. Service is always welcoming. I stay there for a few days when I get off the ferry and do day trips and then stay again on the night before the ferry comes back to melbourne. It's a great location to do that from.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2di4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverstone
0.5 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
#3 of 3 in Ulverstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.5 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
10.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Devonport
0.2 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park
Address: 57 Water St, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Ulverstone
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ulverstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a holiday park located on the beach in Ulverstone Tasmania. We offer a range of self-contained cabin & unit accommodation options along with powered and unpowered camping sites. All of our accommodation has bedding supplied and includes many of the comforts of home. We cater for singles, couples and families with a jumping pillow, playground, TV room, fully-equipped camp kitchen & direct access to the beach. We are in close proximity to the Ulverstone CBD which includes supermarkets, clothing shops, banks and a post office along with a variety of eateries: cafes, bakeries, restaurants, pubs and bottleshops. We also have many local & regional tourist attractions nearby. Our park is a great place to stay as a base for exploring all that the Central Coast has to offer especially for mainland travellers arriving & departing on the Spirit of Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BIG4 Ulverstone Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing