We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Beachway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachway
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is easy walking distance to the main strip in Ulverstone where most cafes/shops are. Clean, basic rooms for cheap prices. All staff were really friendly. Good for short stays. Would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CohenCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in the 'family' room. I really wouldn't class it as a family room as there was no kitchen and barely room for a table. It suited our purpose as a place to sleep, however it would've been nice to have a little more room to be able to be more comfortable.

Room Tip: Read all the reviews to be able to get the room that you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ajjames13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I dont like giving bad reviews, in fact i think this is the first I have made. All the motels we staying in in our recent trip to Tasmania were good. On the positive side this motel has a good dining room and the meal we had was absolutely lovely. Not so however the room. We didnt worry too much because it was only one night that we had to stay there, but if any more than that we would have found somewhere else. The room was small, barely enough space for two people to negotiate their way around the beds without having to step back to let the other pass. The bathroom was tiny, separate toilet with a washbasin and absolutely nowhere to put your toiletries exccept the floor. But to cap it all off when i got home i found that they had debited my account for a smoking in the room fee!!! $100 for something we hadnt done. This left a very bad taste in my mouth as i dont mind copping the consequences for something i have done, but resent paying for something i havent. There was a large ashtray outside with butts in it and maybe the smoke had entered the room that way but we definately had not. No folks, you can find something better for your money if staying in Ulverstone.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms but number 7 was too small
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BucketlistSippyDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here for the first time for business and usually stay elsewhere in ulverstone. Let me say, I'm now making a permanent switch!
The room, although on the small side, was comfortable, clean and well appointed. The location is great for a quick evening/morning stroll to the beach.
I didn't have dinner at the restaurant, but breakfast was delivered to my room and was delicious!
Thanks again for a great stay!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have stayed at this motel on several occasions over the last 12 months. The standard never varies. The welcome is warm and friendly, the rooms very well prepared and presented and the restaurant provides excellent food at reasonable prices. Although the motel rooms are smallish, they are fresh and modern with all the little extras such as satellite TV. I travel to Tasmania as part of my employment and I rate this the best motel on the central north west coast.

Room Tip: Try the restaurant - great meals and at a very reasobnable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Beachway on 2 occasions now and we have found the premises very clean and tidy and central to the township. Whilst the rooms that we have had have not been exceptionally large they are more than suitable for an overnight stay and priced accordingly. The proprieters are extremely friendly and helpful which is what you want when you are visiting an unfamiliar area. The Restaurant has a great menu and good food which is why it is popular among the local towns population. At our recent stay, the restaurant and function room was filled with local people which, speaks volumes in itself. I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

nice clean room which was a good size, reverse cycle heater/cooler heated room quickly, great hot shower, easy access to room on site parking, very helpful staff. toilet seperate to bathroom which I prefer - nice location central to everything

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeanmac281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverstone
6.5 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.3 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
#3 of 3 in Ulverstone
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
596 reviews
9.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
120 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachway

Address: 1 Heathcote St, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Ulverstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Price Range: £57 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachway Motel is a friendly, family owned and operated property offering accommodation, restaurant and function room hire for corporate and private events. We are centrally located in Ulverstone on the Central North Coast of Tasmania. At Beachway, we pride ourselves on friendly service and you'll always be greeted with a welcoming smile on arrival. Set on a quiet street just a short stroll to the beach and the town centre, all rooms are ground level and overlook our central garden. Parking is easy and directly at your door. Free WiFi is available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Beachway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing