We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel for travelers”

Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great motel , exceptional value , friendly and helpful staff nothing a bother . Has own restaurant on site and the meal was the best we had so far after 6 days in Tasmania . Well done Bass & Flinders . Asked for a motel room and they have us a one bedroom suite for no extra cost !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliej61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassUlverstone, Owner at Bass & Flinders Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thankyou Juliej61 for taking the time to post your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay here with us in Ulverstone. Take care and we will hopefully see you next time whilst holidaying in Tasmania.

Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

Clean, functional and recently refurbished. Convenient location, safe beach two blocks away, town centre within walking distance. What one would expect from a world wide franchise. Will happily stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Basically a truck stop, in fact the night we stayed there was a prime mover taking up most of the front restuarant car park, thats if you can call it a restuarant, large meeting room would be a better description. Meals were very basic. Rooms are small brick boxes, and dirty, the manger is overweight but under concerned with customer comfort. Its on a very busy road so good access to surrounding areas but very noisy, 1 star would be a good description.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Flyin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The room was large with queen bed very clean and comfortable. A very quiet location. A kitchenette was well equipped with crockery and microwave. We took the "Bed n Eggs" deal for an extra $15 per room ($7.50 per person) which we thought was excellent value and they were very generous with the toast, bacon and 2 eggs each. We also ordered room service for our dinner and the garlic bread was delivered "as something to nibble on" while waiting for our main meal. The waitress had to walk a distance from the restaurant to our room in 5 degree temperatures but it was delivered with a big smile. Internet access was free of charge which was refreshing after paying $16.50 at The Edgewater Motel in Devonport. I would highly recommend this Motel for your next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 10, it is right at the back and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zholsz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed at this motel recently and the service and hospitality shown to our group was fantastic. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. The meal in the restaurant was excellent and the service first class.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

This hotel gives itself a three star rating but it is worth about one and a half. The person who describes himself as the manager is unfriendly and unhelpful. Although I had a pre-paid internet booking he had no knowledge of this, and less interest. The rooms are bare brick boxes with hose-down carpet tiles, ugly furniture and the most basic fittings. The coffee cups were dirty and the overhead light in the room did not workk, nor did the bathroom light. The hotel has a coin operated laundry but after inserting three dollars worth of coins I was informed the dryer did not work. There is no internet access. The rooms have very thin walls and open onto the parkling lot, so they are incredibly noisy. At 8 am the hotel manager banged on the door repeatedly and although I asked what he wanted he did not stop until I opened it. He said he wanted to warn me that some drilling was about to start on the walls of the room next door. Then began such a phenomenal din that I packed my wet laundry and left immediately. The people who run this hotel appear to have no concern for the customers or for the standards of the premises. I recommend avoidng this hotel. Anywhere else would be better than the Best Western Bass and Flinders, Ulverstone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wme79736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverstone
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
#3 of 3 in Ulverstone
60 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
107 reviews
9.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass & Flinders Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass & Flinders Motor Inn

Address: 49-51 Eastland Dr, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bass & Flinders Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Ulverstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Price Range: £67 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bass & Flinders Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bass & Flinders Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing