We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all rounder”

Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you are looking for comfortable accommodation a good meal with a real family feel then go no further. Not in town but not a problem as the restaurant is probably the best in Ulverstone anyway. There is quick Wifi that I got for free and foxtel on large tv's in the rooms. There is also an indoor pool and spa if you are after that kind of thing.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you would like your room serviced daily (ie. beds made, bins emptied & tea/coffee/sugar replenished), then DON'T stay here! Cleanliness is not the best and the carpark is exceptionally cramped. The restaurant is NOT much better than a CWA hall and we waited 2 hours for our meal. We stayed here over the Easter holidays (2 adults & kids), but the owners were reluctant to share their Easter eggs on display, as I was told "don't take them, I won't have enough for my grandkids". Yet other motels, are more than happy for guest to take any Easter eggs or lollies on dispaly for the kids. Very strange indeed! The rooms are very small and the owners will try to overcharge if you have children (even if they sleep in existing bedding). The heated pool was great and the microwave was a bonus, but unfortunately, we cannot recommend this motel to family travellers, due to reasons as mentioned.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vahshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassUlverstone, Owner at Bass & Flinders Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Vahshay
Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
I will take your comments on board and make changes where necessary. Please may I ask you to be more accurate when making future bookings as the reservation made was for 2 adults only. Had you stated there were 2 children traveling with you I would have been able to accommodate you in one of our family rooms, albeit at higher rate. I was unaware any children were with you until I saw you leave the property. When you asked to extend your stay we charged appropriately for the extra guests but did not bill you retrospectively for the first night.
Please accept my sincere apologies for my comment made as you helped yourself to the basket of Easter Eggs. I did not mean to cause any offence. It was purely a poor attempt at humour .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great motel , exceptional value , friendly and helpful staff nothing a bother . Has own restaurant on site and the meal was the best we had so far after 6 days in Tasmania . Well done Bass & Flinders . Asked for a motel room and they have us a one bedroom suite for no extra cost !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliej61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassUlverstone, Owner at Bass & Flinders Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thankyou Juliej61 for taking the time to post your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay here with us in Ulverstone. Take care and we will hopefully see you next time whilst holidaying in Tasmania.

Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Clean, functional and recently refurbished. Convenient location, safe beach two blocks away, town centre within walking distance. What one would expect from a world wide franchise. Will happily stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Basically a truck stop, in fact the night we stayed there was a prime mover taking up most of the front restuarant car park, thats if you can call it a restuarant, large meeting room would be a better description. Meals were very basic. Rooms are small brick boxes, and dirty, the manger is overweight but under concerned with customer comfort. Its on a very busy road so good access to surrounding areas but very noisy, 1 star would be a good description.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Flyin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The room was large with queen bed very clean and comfortable. A very quiet location. A kitchenette was well equipped with crockery and microwave. We took the "Bed n Eggs" deal for an extra $15 per room ($7.50 per person) which we thought was excellent value and they were very generous with the toast, bacon and 2 eggs each. We also ordered room service for our dinner and the garlic bread was delivered "as something to nibble on" while waiting for our main meal. The waitress had to walk a distance from the restaurant to our room in 5 degree temperatures but it was delivered with a big smile. Internet access was free of charge which was refreshing after paying $16.50 at The Edgewater Motel in Devonport. I would highly recommend this Motel for your next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 10, it is right at the back and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zholsz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed at this motel recently and the service and hospitality shown to our group was fantastic. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. The meal in the restaurant was excellent and the service first class.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverstone
9.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
#3 of 3 in Ulverstone
61 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
121 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass & Flinders Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass & Flinders Motor Inn

Address: 49-51 Eastland Dr, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bass & Flinders Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Ulverstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Price Range: £65 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bass & Flinders Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bass & Flinders Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing