We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel restaurant was good value”

Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Whilst we stayed elsewhere we were looking for a reasonable family meal on Easter Sunday night. Restaurant was pretty quite but door/ bar staff still asked if we had made a booking. Eventually found us a seat despite 3/4 of restaurant being empty and no one showing up in the 90 minutes that we were there??? Pretty standard pub/ club type fare and RSL atmosphere. Meals were large servings at reasonable price, lamb burger was exceptionally good, steaks cooked as ordered, salad bar was fresh and wait service efficient and friendly. Pretty good value overall with specials on offer as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank FamilyTraveller2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Pleased you enjoyed your meals - maybe next time you may like to try our accommodation as well.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ate here in January for my birthday dinner with family. We chose here as we had eaten here quite a few times before and had enjoyed it, and they also have an inside playground for the kids.
In our group we had a family member from overseas who wanted to eat fish, how embarrassed were we when we asked what the fish of the day was, what respectable eating establishment or chef would have flake as their fish of the day.
The young lady who was taking the orders, when questioned about meals, had to keep going out to kitchen to check with the chef, hence it took quite a while to place an order.
Our kids wanted the kids deal which included a chocolate milk, however when I ordered, the young lady again went out the back, came back and said they had no milk left, and couldn’t get any from their supplier. Why run a kids meal deal and then not have a component of it, hard to explain that to three little kids.
We had bread and dips for entrée, and everyone enjoyed this.
Other than the kids, the rest of the table were less than impressed with the quality of the meals from the previous times we had dined here. My fish and chips were so greasy, that I couldn’t finish it, and it repeated on me for hours.
The only saving grace was the older waitress that kept us amused and took the time to make sure the kids were well looked after.
I’m not sure if there is a new chef here but, all in all a very disappointing birthday dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archer_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Archer, thank you for you comments, and Management is sorry that you thought your meal was sub-standard.
We have been unable to obtain the milk for the Kids Menu for a few months. This is an issue with our supplier that we are working to rectify. Short of removing the kids menus from the table, our staff are only able to check on stocks when as order is placed. We hope to have stocks soon.
We frequently have new staff training on the tills, so we presume this was the case when you visited. Again, we apologise if your order was delayed due to them checking with the kitchen, but we prefer them to check when ordering to prevent you getting an incorrect meal.
We endevour to use local, fresh produce when available & fish falls into this category. Our current supplies of Flake are excellent, and it is not a cheap fish. Occasionally we use it as Fish Of The Day and your waitress would have been able to advise what fish was on special. The other fish on the menu is battered, crumbed or grilled, so we presume you ordered the battered fish and if it was cooked unsuitably it would have been acceptable to bring it to the attention of the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Pros:
We requested a room with a double & a single, and we got a spacious nice room complete with kitchen amenities, spacious bathroom and dining table for AUD105. Our room was so much more spacious compared to our previous hotel and conveniently located in town, just for an extra AUD5.

They have nice AUD10 meals. I loved the rump steak. They have a refillable salad bar option too for AUD5. All the staff we spoke to were friendly. There are slot machines downstairs if you are of legal age and need some entertainment. Otherwise, they have a kids room where kids can entertain themselves.

Was not disturbed by any pub noise at all.

Cons:
All the rooms are upstairs, you have to carry your luggage up.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilblackdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi lilblackdog
It was great to have you stay with us & we are pleased you enjoyed your surrounds.
Our bistro menu is varied and we always have some extra value dishes on offer.
Please visit us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We were just in town for one night and needed a simple inexpensive room. The accommodation we found to be just perfect for what we needed. It was very clean. We stayed on a Thursday night and were not disturbed by the pub noise at all. The gym was a nice surprise - it was much better than some of the quite expensive places we stayed at!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank spatte123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks for your kinds words.
The Lighthouse is in an excellent location to visit Ulverstone & surrounds and we do try to appeal to all age groups.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were quite happy with our stay here. The room was a decent size especially compared with our last hotel and it is conveniently located in the town. The staff were helpful and checking went smoothly. The rooms are on the first floor and there isn't a lift so that means carrying the suitcases up a flight of stairs. We had room 27 which is located towards the back of the hotel and away from the central restaurant area so noise wasn't a problem. I think it closed around 9:00 or 10:00 anyway. There were some comments about the railway line being close by but we didn't notice any noise from that.
We used the restaurant both nights and found it to be you average pub meal although it did take a long time to get our meal the second night but they warned us when we ordered that because they were really busy it could take a while.
We did have a problem with the fridge where the tray that normally sits under the freezer to catch the melting ice was missing this meant that anything sitting on the bottom got wet. We mentioned this to the staff the first morning but it wasn't fixed. (It was a public holiday however)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your complimentary review.
Sorry about the fridge, but I'm sure staff have attended to that now.
Some of our rooms are closer the the railway line than others, due to the building layout, but only 4 trains a day pass through town and we like to think that most of those are during the daylight hours.
Hope to have you as our guests again when you next need to stay in Ulversto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed at the Lighthouse Hotel for 2 nights whilst on business. An interesting designed hotel with easy access into the restaurant and dining areas. As we got in late, the keys were left for us at a local 24 hour service station. The upstairs rooms are arranged around the restaurant and bar area downstairs.
Older style room but spotlessly clean and adequate. Perhaps they haver acted on past reviews.
One minute walk to main shopping centre.
Went down for breakfast one morning and there was no one there. Never mind, we helped ourselves.
Would have no problems staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDHAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thanks for your review.
We always have staff on duty from 6.30am to assist with breakfast, so we are sorry if the staff member was not visible when you came down for breakfast, however we are pleased that you were able to serve yourself. We will look to put up some additional signage if our staff are called away from the breakfast area. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A very well located accommodation right in the heart of Ulverstone, with reasonable rooms. The resaturant looked very popular with local families and although this meant a lot of screaming from the kid's play area, the food looked to be good value. The cleaning and maintenance staff do fall short a little.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJDoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

The Lighthouse Hotel is well located in the center of town. Our bistro & kids playroom is popular, but the playroom is only open during meal times, so no 'screaming kids' the rest of the day.
We have checked the room you stayed in and cannot find any particular area that needs maintenance, but we apologise, if on the night you visited, our services were not up to the standard we aspire to.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverstone
9.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
107 reviews
10.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
120 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Ulverstone
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone

Address: 33 Victoria Street | Ulverstone, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Ulverstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Price Range: £51 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Hotel is in Ulverstone's main street. Waling distance to all local amenities. 10-15 minutes walk to the beach. Children playroom off the Atrium Bistro, open 7 days for meals - lunch & dinner.En suite rooms with one executive suite available and adjoining family rooms.Gaming Room and Tote facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing