We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bed and Breakfast with Wonderful Hosts”
Review of Elm Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Wood
Ranked #2 of 3 Westbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Gil and Diana are perfect hosts. Breakfast is great with homemade yogurt and fruits from their extensive garden.
Beautiful and quiet setting. Accomdations are private and charming and Gil knows everything to see and do in
the area. This was our third stay and we are already planning our next one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Gil and Diana were the perfect hosts. Elm Wood bed and breakfast is a beautiful place to stay - the accommodation is great and the gardens lovely. It is a little piece of paradise - we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njenkins009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I had such a wonderful time in Tasmania and Elm Wood made it a perfect holiday! When I first stepped in, I felt as if I was in a mini-botanical garden because there were flowers and trees surrounding the cottages! It was an extremely pretty sight and I'm sure any tired travellers can come and seek relaxation and peace in this quiet cottage.

I stayed in Linden cottage (for 2 people) and I must say the interior design is another plus point. The bed is big and comfortable with electric blankets, good for the cold weather. There is also a fireplace to my astonishment which adds a cosy feeling to the house. The mini kitchen has everything available! Pots and pans to cook, an oven, utensils, salt and pepper and unlimited coffee and tea.

Breakfast is a delight! Diana prepares awesome breakfast! We had spicy fruit loaf and sourdough bread with her handmade blackberry jam! Muesli and cornflakes were given and they were more than sufficient to give me a full stomach to start the day! Diana also gave us blueberries and peaches from her own garden and I must say it is really different and much better to eat it fresh and hand-grown than from the ones sold in the markets!

Gil gave us advice on which places to go and how to travel down as well. He provided us with maps that were really very useful because it points out which attractions to go to. We had a wonderful talk with him on the last day and he showed us photos from his holiday trips as well. Gil and Diana are very very very friendly and hospitable such that I feel so much at home when I stay in Elm Wood.

I'm very sure that the accommodation is definitely worth checking it out and trying! It's different from hotels or resorts because Gil and Diana manage everything in Elm Wood and so they make it more homely and friendly. I will go back to Elm Wood the next time I return to Tasmania, that is for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noeleentan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Beautifully furnished cottages with a fireplace surrounded by lovely gardens, Elm Wood is like a mini paradise in Westbury, Tasmania managed by Gil & Diana Stokes. Though it might be slightly difficult to access Elm Wood via public transport, if one rents a car, it is just a 30 mins drive from Launceston Airport, just off Bass Highway. Do rent a car, it is definitely worth it as you get to travel down to Mole Creek for breathtaking views such as Devils' Gullet, Liffey Falls and other attractions such as Trowunna Wildlife Park and Mole Creek Caves.
Gil Stokes knows the area like the back of his hand and revealed many secrets of Tasmania which will leave you blown away! From ginseng salmon farm to award-winning gelato ice cream, Gil made our trip in Tasmania an unforgettable one. 2.5 days was definitely not enough to even begin to explore that seemingly small part of Tasmania!
Diana prepares heavenly breakfasts and delivers to the doorsteps of our Linden Cottage. Sourdough bread, spice fruit bread, with homemade blackberry jam spread and muesli with milk was simply fantastic and I look forward to it every morning! :)
Diana was so helpful, she even provided us with a bucket of car shampoo with water and sponge to clean up our rented car. Gil and Diana did a fantastic job with Elm Wood and their service was impeccable! I would really love to come back to enjoy their friendly and warm hospitality again. :)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharalyn_Abdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed 3 nights, after reading reviews was expecting something wonderful. Cottage was lovely, and the fire was burning when we arrived, very nice on a cold day in Tasmania. Breakfast on day one, was with the owners in the large house, as we were the only people there. We skipped day two breakfast, as we wanted to get away early. On checkout morning, we fronted up to the main house again, for a 8:45am breakfast, however owners didn't answer the door, so we left without breakfast. Perhaps we should have made more tangible arrangements regarding day three, but were late getting back, and didn't want to disturb. We just got the feeling that although they were happy to have us in the cottage, it was all a bit much to provide the extras that were promised on the website. Overall a bit disappointing, given the wonderful reviews on tripadviser.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waddles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed at elm wood in the linden cottage for our honeymoon. We were there for about a week and a half. We had plenty of great advice from the owners about what's around the area and also how to get there (we had a hire car). Loved the fireplace and complementary port, the breakfasts were fantastic, a great place all around would definitely stay there again next time in tassie!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northernmenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The location of Elm wood off the main road but right on the village green provides a delightful place to base oneself when exploring Westbury and surrounds. The accommodation is superbly decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast is home-style and delicious. The complimentary port and chocolate was a lovely touch. Diana and Gill are great hosts and had very good suggestions for thing to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandjodiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elm Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Wood

Address: 10 Lonsdale Prom, Westbury, Tasmania 7303, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Westbury
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful home and two cottages on a 1½ acre tapestry bordered by hawthorn hedges, home to a botanical garden’s worth of magnificent 100 year-old European trees and wedged between the Village Green and the Town Common. They live in Holly cottage and have opened Elm House and Linden Cottage to their guests. Elm Wood is 30 minutes from the Launceston Airport and 45 minutes from the Devonport Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elm Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing