We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden costs and poor hosts ruined what was otherwise a great trip :(”
Review of Elm Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Wood
Ranked #2 of 3 Westbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Upon arrival, my girlfriend and I thought we had found the perfect romantic getaway. A cosy little cabin with an open fire, set on the edge of a charming little town and close to the city of Launceston where all the tourist traps could be found.

Everything seemed fine until we settled down for our first night in the cottage.

There wasn't a kitchen to speak of - they were supposedly half way through renovations so we had no sink, no taps, no way of washing up dishes. The kitchen didn't exist except for a small bench and a bar fridge on the floor, and we were told not to use the bench because it hadn't been sealed. Diana and Gil seem nice enough, although after Diana poked her head into our room for the third time in an hour, we were getting annoyed. This was supposed to be our romantic getaway, and having someone interrupt a cosy night in multiple times was just rude.

To top it off, we got charged for three breakfasts that we didn't order. We found this out after getting home and when we rang to correct the mistake, we were told that we had selected to have breakfast each morning when we booked on the website (which we didn't, we booked by phone). Being called liars in addition to everything else was the straw that broke the camels back. I definitely would not recommend this place to anyone, you just will not get your money's worth!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoneyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Elm Wood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spend 2 terrific nights with friends (4 of us) in the Holly Cottage. Loads of room, very comfy, cosie and clean. The days were sunny and warm and the nights were cold but the wood fire kept us toasty. Gil and Diana were lovely hosts, very friendly and helpful. Diana left us a beautiful basket of breakfast goodies every morning! Delicious! Gil popped in for a cuppa and a chat about some of the wonderful sites to see around his beloved Tassie!! We had planned to tour around some wineries but we were tempted to see some of the other sites (Liffey Falls - wonderful 30 minute walk through an amazing rainforest with spectacular waterfalls) Well worth the 40 minute drive from Westbury. Gil told us an easy way to get there!! The Steam Engine Museum in Westbury kept the boys busy for a couple of hours while the girls found a lovely local bakery for a coffee and cake.
We cant wait to plan our next trip to Tassie. Still so much to see and do!! Thanks again Gil & Diana!!
Jen, Nick, Fran & Laurie

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights on a Groupon voucher. We stayed in the Holly Cottage - I was worried it wouldn't be as warm and cosy as the smaller Linden cottage but once we got the fire going it was toasty. Gil and Diana are so lovely, very welcoming and helpful. We were planning to tour the Tamar Valley wineries but Gil gave us an amazing map full of secret local attractions and we had SUCH a good day...he also recommended we have dinner in the library at Quamby estate... where my boyfriend proposed to me!! Thank you Gil! Elm Wood will always have such happy memories for us.

Beautiful food for breakfast, make sure you take a stroll through the gardens. Also go to Fitzpatricks Inn for dinner (we ate in the bar - very cosy and fascinating history), and check out Alum Cliffs...spectacular. There is HEAPS to do around here, you could easily spend 4-5 days. Highly recommended!

For more info and photos check out my blog: http://yellowpaperroses.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/cottage-dreams/

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed in the Linden Cottage. It was lovely, rustic and comfortable. Sheets, towels and robes were all fresh and clean. We were hopeless at starting the woodfire, but Diana was more than happy to come in, get the fire roaring for us and have a chat. Diana and Gil are what really make this place special. They are both so welcoming. Gil goes above and beyond with maps and recommendations of places to go. Diana's fresh breakfast hampers are healthy and delicious. Westbury is a historic, sleepy town. Its surrounds hold some breathtaking scenes, all within an hour's drive. Perfect for a city couple like us that wanted to relax. We're already planning our next trip there to see everything we missed the first time around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Having read the many rave reviews on this accommodation on Trip Advisor, we booked to stay there for one night recently. We stayed in Holly Cottage, one of two self-contained cottages on the grounds in addition to the main house, where the owners live. Holly Cottage was a pleasant venue, set in very pretty gardens and looked quaint and charming from the outside. The inside was reasonably well equipped however basically just one large room, with the kitchen/living/dining area all together and the main bedroom at one end. The design of this left a bit to be desired we thought. It was necessary to move the dining table and chairs in order to close the curtains once it got dark, the main light in this area didn't work, and there was nowhere to sit comfortably to watch TV if you wished to, other than by moving chairs around. It may be that not many guests want to watch TV but as we were tired and it was a cold night and there was a program we wanted to see, we did in this case. In the bedroom area there was a bedside table only on one side of the bed which was a bit awkward. There was a lovely wood combustion stove, however there was some problem with turning it down and consequently it burnt fiercely the whole time we had it on, making the room far too hot at one stage. The hosts were tied up in a meeting when we arrived and so we didn't get to meet them until later in the evening. They were most pleasant and welcoming however and Gil went to some trouble to help us out with maps, information and advice in terms of things to see on our onward journey the next day, which proved very useful. We chose not to pay extra for the cooked breakfast as we had our own provisions, so can't comment on this.

The village part of Westbury surrounding Elmwood is delightful, especially at this time of the year (autumn) and there are many lovely old historic buildings to see.

The experience was pleasant but not quite as good as we were expecting from the write-ups we'd read, and also considering the quite high cost in comparison to other places of a similar quality we stayed during this trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Gil and Diana are perfect hosts. Breakfast is great with homemade yogurt and fruits from their extensive garden.
Beautiful and quiet setting. Accomdations are private and charming and Gil knows everything to see and do in
the area. This was our third stay and we are already planning our next one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Gil and Diana were the perfect hosts. Elm Wood bed and breakfast is a beautiful place to stay - the accommodation is great and the gardens lovely. It is a little piece of paradise - we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njenkins009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elm Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Wood

Address: 10 Lonsdale Prom, Westbury, Tasmania, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Westbury
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful home and two cottages on a 1½ acre tapestry bordered by hawthorn hedges, home to a botanical garden’s worth of magnificent 100 year-old European trees and wedged between the Village Green and the Town Common. They live in Holly cottage and have opened Elm House and Linden Cottage to their guests. Elm Wood is 30 minutes from the Launceston Airport and 45 minutes from the Devonport Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elm Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing